Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Friendly Staff. Terrible bed.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Overall a nice hotel. Location is great for food and colonial Williamsburg. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. My only gripe is the room. The bed was hard and the pillows were some of the most uncomfortable I've slept on. The thermostat for the room would keep the temperature at either 85 or 55, no inbetween. While my stay in the room was not enjoyable I could see someone with different sleeping preferences enjoying this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Do Not Book This Hotel If You Are A Nonsmoker

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Sadly, I had an experience similar to a previous reviewer. When I arrived at check-in, I was told that since I booked through Expedia, the hotel did not have to honor my preferences. (I can understand that policy to a certain extent, but not when it comes to smoking and pet rooms due to allergies and medical conditions. Also, the hotel had my cell phone number to call me ahead of time regarding this issue but they did not.) I said I didn't think I could stay in a smoking room but would check it out. It was nasty. I could not stay there. So I returned to the front desk hoping for some kind of accommodation (a refund, free future stay...) I got absolutely no remedy. After loading up on caffeine, I ended up driving home that night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Heart of the hotel/restaurant district

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Beautiful, well-maintained hotel. Very clean, everything in the room functional. Very courteous staff at check-in. But called the hotel phone number with a question about my bill & got to speak with an impatient, imprudent smartass. After I finally managed to get her attention, she was able to answer my question in about 30 seconds. Other than that, my stay was good. Would probably stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Perfect in middle of town with many restaurants and shops
Clean lobby staff friendly but terrible bed carpet not clean under bed and sheets are scratchy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A wonderful, quiet place to stay

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: There is lots to do nearby...and plenty of places to eat...outlets, Colonial williamsburg and Bush gardens all nearby
Our room was extremely clean, quiet and comfy. Staff were always willing to please, smiling and super friendly. They had water coffee and cookies avaliable all day and the pool is open 24 hours for those who like to stay up late.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very outdated hotel. Best thing is staff was good

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Bed sheet/comforter smells not fresh. Facility outdated
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VERY disappointing and will never stay there again

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: We did not like anything. It was a horrible experience.
Cons: There was a horrible stench of cigarette smoke and the rude manager did not attempt to help at all.
The room's stench of cigarette smoke was overwhelming. My young children and I did not even put down our bags, and I immediately , politely asked to please be transferred to another room. I certainly did not request a smoking room, and the default should NOT be a smoking room. The manager ( on duty at 3pm 10/1/16) refused to consider this request as she claimed that it is a significant disadvantage to booking through Expedia as Expedia does not guarantee room type. ( For $160- they should.) This particular manager did not even attempt to check to see if there was another room available and claimed "they were all booked". The beds were tiny, and the expected fee for breakfast was absurd. I have never had any trouble using Expedia in the past, and I strongly suspect that this problem lay on the management staff of the hotel and not Expedia. I hope that this review is read by others so that this horrible experience is not encountered again by another.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Breakfast buffet outstanding!

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere of the lobby pavilion was super for breakfast.
Cons: The bathrooms were rather old fashioned, and bedroom decor was uninspiring.
Location: Since we were there for Colonial Williamsburg, it was a bit too far to walk. Grocery store and other restaurants were nearby however.
A marvelous surprise to enjoy the breakfast buffet, with made to order omelettes! Kids loved the pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
The room was very clean and spacious , staff was nice and the hotel itself was in a very good location with plenty places to eat and lots to do
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, friendly staff, close to everything.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Great family weekend. The hotel was close to shopping, restaurants and parks. Very clean and the food at the hotel was great. My daughter loved the 24 hour pool.