Ratings based on 1,499 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

I ALWAYS READ A LOT OF REVIEWS!

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: IT WAS ONLY A SHORT 10-15 MINUTES FROM BUSCH GARDENS!
Location: BUSCH GARDENS HISTORIC WILLIAMSBURG COLLEGE OF WILLIAM AND MARY
I ALWAYS READ A LOT OF REVIEWS! FORTUNATELY I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH THE GOOD REVIEWS I READ AND I TOOK THE BAD REVIEWS WITH A GRAIN OF SALT HOPING THOSE PEOPLE WERE AS OVERLY CRITICAL AS THEY SOUNDED. PERSONALLY I WAS BEING EXTRA FRUGAL LOOKING FOR A HOTEL CONSIDERING WE DROVE FIVE HOURS TO WILLIAMSBURG TO SPEND OUR MONEY AT BUSCH GARDENS. NOT ON A ROOM WE WERE SIMPLY USING FOR SLEEP AND SHOWERS, BUT I WILL NOT STAY IN A BAD/NASTY ROOM JUST FOR A DECENT RATE. THIS WILLIAMSBURG, VA HOWARD JOHNSON INN TURNED OUT TO BE QUITE A NICE HOTEL AT A GREAT PRICE!!!! CONSIDERING WE VISITED DURING THE WEEKEND OF HOME COMING WHEN LITERALLY EVERY ROOM ON ALL 7 LEVELS WAS BOOKED... THE LADY AT THE DESK WAS SURPRISINGLY PLEASANT AND QUICK WITH OUR PAPERWORK. WE SWAM IN THE INDOOR POOL WITH REMARKABLY PLEASANT LUKE WARM SWIMMING WATER. WE ATE THEIR COMPLEMENTARY BREAKFAST. I LOVED THE BAGELS AND MUFFINS! THE AIR CONDITION WORKED AMAZING! THE ROOM HAD PLENTY OF WALL OUTLETS FOR ALL OF OUR CHARGERS. HOUSE KEEPING HELPED US OUT BY TAKING OUR TRASH AWAY AND GIVING US MORE TRASH BAGS PLUS TOWELS. THE SHOWER/BATH TUB WAS HUGE COMPARED TO THE AVERAGE TUB! TWO PEOPLE CAN EASILY FIT d; NEXT TIME WE DRIVE TO WILLIAMSBURG I WILL DEFINITELY SPEND THE LITTLE BIT OF EXTRA MONEY TO BOOK THE KING BED ROOM WITH AN ACTUAL HOT TUB IN THE ACTUAL ROOM SO WE CAN RELAX AND WATCH TV AT THE SAME TIME!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chapel hill NC

Terrible

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pictures do not match. The hotel outside is painted different. The tv's are from the 80s not flat like the pictures suggest. The shower water is backwards but thankfully "h" and "c" were written on the shower wall in Sharpe. There were 3 inch crack on either side of the tub like it had been replaced with a smaller size. The beds were hard.yhe air conditioner could not keep the room cool. Miserable night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington,DC

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Convenient location to the outlets
Cons: Have towels in the room upon your arrival
Location: Excellent location especially near a large grocery store
The experience was very good. The beds were quite comfortable, and overall room was very clean. Even though my room had no towels, we had to go downstairs to get those in order to take a bath, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

As expected

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Have stayed at this hotel several times a few years ago. It has had a face lift and looks better. It was very inexpensive and that is why I selected it. I have adjusted my expectations to match what I paid. The biggest problem for me was that the toilet seat was dirty underneath. Everytime I lifted it, it was disgusting. Looked like it had been that way for awhile. The room and breakfast would have matched my expectations without this issue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from williamsburg, va.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Room was okay, the breakfast left a lit to be desired. Items were sparse and was not refilled when empty. Building was clean but old building in need of repairs, blankets were stiff and course so were the towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Great rooms a little out dated but COMFORTABLE

Posted Sep 28, 2017
GREAT STAY ROOMS A LITTLE OUT DATED AND CAN BE LITTLE MORE CLEANER! Overall GREAT COZY STAY! Would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from williamsburg

Fair for the price

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Nice stay for the price. Hotel and rooms are a little outdated. Rooms were decent minus a few hiccups. Continental breakfast is offered. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, dirty hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
For the price we paid we really didn't expect much. The location was great but the hotel is very old and dirty. The carpet and chairs looked lile they haven't been vacuumed in a while, the sheets were full of stains, and the bathroom was old with broken tiles. Dispite the dirt the beds were actually very comfortable. Breakfast was nicer than expected.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Nothing. This was our second stay and the first time was great but this was a disaster!
Cons: Cleaniness of the rooms which include cleaning pubic hair out of the bathroom floor and shower. The smell was so bad throughout the whole hotel.
This was our second time staying here. The first time was great; clean and great service. This time was the total opposite! The room was nasty (hair in the floor and in the shower), the smell throughout the whole hotel was so bad it made me sick to my stomach. When we reported this all we were told was "sorry". Nothing was done about it. We also had a king size bed with two small twin size pillows. When we called to see if we could get another pillow we were told to go to the front desk. When my husband went down there to retrieve a pillow he told them about the problems and all they said was "sorry" and handed him a pillow. I will never stay here again. I could have gotten a room cheaper and cleaner across the street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for price you pay

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel stay for the price! Friendly front desk clerks checking in and out. Breakfast was good and breakfast staff was helpful.