Ratings based on 1,600 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Very well priced - pool wasn't great and breakfast was packed everyday - but room was clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Decent hotel for a decent price.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Decent hotel in a great location. Free WiFi. But reception is weak and merely impossible. But good hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Great staff and service, i was satisfied with breakfast and the indoor pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, VA

Comfortable and affordable.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The hotel itself may not be an ultra modern building but the room was comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was certainly a nice way to start the day. It was great having actual hot food, not the usual cereal and bagels. A good experience all around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Expected more from Howard Johnson

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: 10 minute drive to Busch Gardens.
Cons: See my list above. Howard Johnson Corporate, as well as the franchise owner should be embarrassed to have this hotel attached to the HJ name.
Location: Busch Gardens 10 minutes away. Beautiful theme park.
The only redeeming aspect of this hotel was the blonde woman who worked the front desk. She was very sweet & efficient, and printed out tickets for me. After that, it was all down hill. The safe was broken, and the maintenance guy worked on it for a few minutes, stood up & said "it's broken, have a good night" and left without replacing it or offering a solution. The phone was broken for our entire stay, despite our multiple requests to fix it. The bathtub was nasty when we checked in: COVERED in hair. Clearly had not been cleaned since the last guest checked out. There were whirlpool jets in the tub, but they did not work either. (big surprise at this point!) The A/C wasn't working very well, so my husband (an HVAC tech) took the filters out. They were clogged beyond belief. Once he cleaned them, it worked better. Maintenance obviously is lacking in this hotel. 2 of the 3 days that we were there, our toilet was not cleaned by housekeeping. The breakfast was good, but the sausage was ice cold & didn't look like it had been heated up at all. The cleaning crew did not take care of that room. Trash was overflowing & we had to leave our used plates on the floor next to the trash can. Food was replaced very slowly as it ran out. Pool towels were hard to come by. When we asked for some, we were always told they were "in the dryer". Once we walked through the lobby & used the elevator dripping wet since they weren't out of the dryer in a reasonable time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glow

Worst place i have stayed at

Posted Jul 11, 2017
My family and i had to check out 20 min after checking inn .the lobby was very ugly ,the floor where my room was smelled like dirty feet,the pool smelled like eggs with bleach since is close to the pool area .and the hotel looks like the owners forgot we are in 2017
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The hotel itself is pretty nice and clean, the hotel front desk staff is very rude. Overall hotel is good and close by to tons of stuff like restaurant's, grocery, shopping etc
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Dont bother

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The towels, sheets, mattress & tub were all in bad condition. The towels & sheets hurt like sand paper. The mattresses we paper thin, lumpy & were sagging in the middle. Even the pillows felt empty. The tub is supposed to blow air but it wasn't working... The staff was nice but the room attendant didn't understand English so we couldn't get him to understand our needs. We'll never go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Howard Johnsons Williamsburg - NEVER AGAIN

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Cons: Complete renovation - inside and out
First of all, the pictures on Expedia were very misleading. The hotel was very run down on both the outside and the inside. Parking was limited near the front entrance and the side entrance. The parking lot on the back side of the building was dark and secluded and a good distance from the front/side entrance. Trash was piled on the curb for probably 20+ feet because the trash container outside was full and overflowing. Old mattresses were stacked up against the trash. The pool was so nasty my kids would not even go in it. The continental breakfast was so packed there was no place to sit and hard to even get anything to eat because of lines and/or the food being out. The room was decent, but our air conditioning never cooled the room. We called maintenance regarding the air. Not sure if they came or not while we were gone, but the air was a problem all 3 days we were there. Another huge complaint is that the hallways/elevators/etc were not air conditioned AT ALL! The rooms only had the wall units. When its 90 degrees and humid outside, no A/C is miserable. I think that contributed to the room not cooling off. Overall very un-pleased with the hotel and will not be back. There was also a distinct smell when you walked in the lobby that was very off-putting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Presentation wasn't good. Unable to see room before check in.