Ratings based on 5,179 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warrenton, VA

Disappointing

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: The grounds and Historic Powhatan house
Cons: Up front notice of timeshare status and extra fees.
Location: The location is pretty far from Colonial Williamsburg and good restaurants. It is located primarily in the shopping district.
The grounds and Historic Powhatan house were beautiful which is the only reason this gets 3 stars at all. The unit was comfortable except for the worn and stained pull out couch and fireside chairs. I didn't realize this was first and foremost a timeshare, as this was not indicated anywhere when booking (very disappointing in Expedia after several years of fantastic bookings!). Also didn't realize there would be hidden resort fees for use of the facilities which we did not use at all being it was only a 2 night stay. The refundable deposit was much higher than other hotels. We were encouraged to visit the "consierge" for our "free gift" which consisted of informational magazines and maps which could have easily been acquired anywhere in Williamsburg. The young concierge was very pushy and insistent we sit through a hours long time share talk even after several polite attempts to decline. We were only there for 2 days!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Great Hotel. We had a wonderful weekend away in Williamsburg! Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Amanda, Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Bait and switch

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable rooms.
Cons: They need to be more upfront about their aims.
Location: Williamsburg, Jametow and Yorktown.
They offer great deals through Expedia, but work you get there you find out what they are up to: they want to sell you a timeshare. Stick to your guns, say no and be out of there before checkout time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

A very dated property. It really needs work.

Posted Nov 12, 2017
This property is just ok. It’s fine for a place to lay your head, but don’t go looking to be wowed. Dated me furniture. Shower door in master bed room would not close. Outside of units look a little worn down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Amanda, Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! The Historic Powhatan Resort is in the process of updating the furnishings in the suites and we are sorry if the suite appeared dated. We hope that the team at the resort was able to assist you with any concerns while you were here and we hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bardstown, Ky. 40004

Great Place

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Quiet, peaceful, near to shopping and attractions
Cons: Replace the towels and coffee
Location: Located in Williamsburg, Va. Many attractions within close driving distance.
Quiet, clean, peaceful atmosphere. Great amenities. The only complaint is I was there for 4 days and they never brought clean towels or replaced the coffee packets in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Amanda, Resort Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Nice townhomes to saty in friendly staff although they do try very hard to seel you on buying into the resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Gorgeous Resort close to Historic Williamsburg

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Came down for a weekend from Jersey to visit my significant other stationed down here. The resort and the room was absolutely beautiful. No complains at all! Would highly recommend this location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Cons: Improve parking and update the indies with new renovation.
Good experience. The Powhatan Grill was great with tasty. Food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros- peaceful setting, wildlife, attractive grounds/buildings, things to do for children, spacious Cons- room smelled musty, couch looked dingy/worn, long check-in, try to sign you up for a timeshare presentation
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
The Historic Powhatan Resort’s housekeeping team works hard to ensure that your concerns are addressed promptly and thoroughly as we take pride in the preparation and maintenance of our guest rooms and resort. When notified, our front desk works diligently in accommodating requests in a swift manner and we apologize if you felt this was not presented. We appreciate you voicing your concerns and hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay with us. Diamond Resorts international® is looking forward to an opportunity to present you a memorable vacation soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, Ky

Awesome stay!!

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Awesome stay at the resort.. great room and wonderful stay... hope to stay there soon again!! Loved the plantation !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
The biggest compliment we can receive is a guest who wants to return! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to spend your hard-earned vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We will definitely make sure to share your feedback with our team here!