Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Came here for a vacation with our 2 children. Room was clean and quiet although there were other guests staying around us. I was however disappointed that the staff only came in to clean our room/make beds the day after I called and complained ( we were out from 9-6pm). Pool was okay but staff did not keep up with demands for clean towels at the pool. Other kids took over spa so could not enjoy that but otherwise pool was ok. Overall resort was okay but not sure I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place to stay

Posted Aug 2, 2017
I would highly recommend this place. We are pleased and satisfied.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

historic area "hotel" in horrible conditions

Posted Aug 1, 2017
we arrive and their system was down and they wanted to write down my credit card number and info on a piece of paper to put into the computer later. i refused stating this is "finance 101 not to ever let anyone write down on paper your credit card info". they wrote on the paper that I refused and let me enter. I told them to charge my card on file in the computer when the system was back up. they did. this is listed as a hotel but we were put in these tiny outdoor entry rooms blocks away from the main area. the outside area was in poor condition back there with garbage and construction scraps everywhere. the hotel room bathroom door was significantly too large for the frame so it didn't close. there was no chain and bolt lock...just the holder for it on the entry door. there was a horrible odor coming from the air conditioner...my husband opened up the vents and peered into it with a flashlight to find significant amounts of mold so we didn't want to run the A.C. the floors were filthy. I don't think they have ever been cleaned. the cleaning staff going around each day never once had a vacuum or mop. all I saw them ever do when I was walking around was take in a change out towels or toilet paper. the bathroom floor was so filthy that when I put down my towel to walk out of shower..the backside was quickly brown. the carpet wasn't vacuumed. we slept on top the sheets and bedspread because we figured the uncleaniness continued there. I wouldn't return or recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa.

Hotel close to all attractions

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Stayed in newer reconditioned private condos. Short walk to pool. Nice area close to Williamsburg and Busch Gardens.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Not what we expected

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The only plus I have is that it was clean.
Cons: Just about everything
Location: It is close to shopping
I assumed we would be staying in the "hotel". We were given our room numbers and were told they were in another complex. These are "motel" type houses. We had a room with a king bed, you could barely function because the bed was the high point of the room. There was no where to get ice without "driving" back to the main "hotel". In our complex it was obvious there were some "rooms" with 8 to 10 people in them(lots of kids). We stayed 3 nights and were given 1 very small bar of soap that we had to take between the shower and sink. We were never given another bar! We were never given any creamer or sugar to go with the coffee. Who wants to have to get back out on the road to get some from the main building. Our "closet" was smaller than 5 ft tall that was placed beneath the tv.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Be aware of motel style rooms

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Clean, newly renovated.
Cons: Better disclosure of what portion of the hotel you would be staying.
Location: good location to parks and historic area
Even though the rooms were clean and private, I was unaware of the option to be placed in one. My last stay was at the main hotel in one of the suite style rooms. This was larger and close access to the pool. The motel room I recently stayed in was small, and a long walk to the pool. This was disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This is a charming place very close to all Colonial Williamsburg attractions. The room was very clean and the bathroom was updated and cheerful. Staff was very friendly and helpful and overall our experience was fabulous for an inexpensive stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Not happy with stay.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Bathroom was not clean...hairs all over the place and tub/tile dirty...also..was not aware you had to REQUEST for the maids to clean your room or else all they do is pick up towels and give you fresh..they dont even make the beds. Also, one of the days they entered our room,they did not close the door completely so anybody could have entered our room because we were gone for 10 hours that day! Staff did not seem concerned when I told them about any of this.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Terrible

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Called ahead of time to see if my reservation had at least 2 separate beds. Assured me that, when I called the resort...THE RESORT, that each room has at least a king size bed with a pull out couch or 2 beds in order to accommodate 4 people. Well, they were wrong. When i got there and only had a king bed Inqas livid. Where is he rest of the room? I promptly called for them to fix it. They could not and would not accommodate me. Not even a rollaway bed. Said there is nothkng they can do. They also tried to blame Expedia saying that I must have spoken with them about room. NOPE! Tried to speak with Expedia and they told me I had to speak with the resort directly. I got their phone off of THEIR website. NOT Expedia. Their only solution was to give me a bag of linens and make a bed on the floor. THE FLOOR!!!! Our reservation was for 2 nights so I gave them a chance to make it right the next day. I was assured that the morning manager would call me first thing (8am) and resolve this issue. NOPE! I waited until 3pm before calling. At that point the manager was leaving for the day and hey had to chase him down. GOOD! Finally, he said that he had a room to accommodate me....the room I paid for. Had I not called, who knows what would have happened. Probably another sleepless night on the floor. I was not offered or asked for a partial reimbursement. Probably would have got the runaround again. Wasn't worth the trouble or frustration.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: staff were nice.
Cons: Everything I mentioned in my comment.
Very disappointing room don't look like pictures on line. Paint splatters on curtains, room overall too small. Shower can use a better cleaning hair on bathroom floor. Just too small no where to put your curling on in bathroom, would invest in those properties.