Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hudson, WI

Quiet place and good experience

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Was pleasantly surprised by this place. The staff was super friendly and accommodating and happily switched my reservation after some last minute changes were needed (went from 1 bed to 2) and check in was super easy. The check in parking lot has a super tight turnaround so would definitely not drive a large vehicle in there, but the main lot is spacious. The rooms were clean and had all the typical things one would like (fridge, TV, microwave, etc) and the beds /pillows were just as comfortable as some much more expensive hotels. WiFi was good speed and the room was quiet considering it's right next to the highway. (I couldn't hear any noise). Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about (basic bagels, yogurts, etc) but that's not some thing I expect from the hotels I go to. The morning staff were just as cheery as the check in staff so I left feeling good about my experience. If I ever have a need to stay in the area again, this would probably be my go-to place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just needed a room and got what we paid for.

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Nice person at check in. Lady next morning was a bit grumpy. Nice little breakfast and everything was reasonably clean. No complaints for what we needed. Not anything extraordinary, but cost was good and we got everything we needed. Happy with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Nice room with good amenities. Decent breakfast. Clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great staff but the room was maybe a 2 star

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: The staff is very helpful and friendly. Even though we had some disappointing experiences, they went out of their way to accommodate us.
Cons: The place needs a deep cleaning and I think housekeeping needs to up their game.
Location: If your destination is in or near Willmar, MN, the location is great. Close to highways, plenty of shopping and dining nearby.
The people who worked there were very friendly and accommodating. The free breakfast buffet was also nice to have available. This is more of a low cost no frills place and the we had a couple of less than satisfying issues with our room. First of all, our room had a bit of a musty/damp smell. It was not over bearing but it didn't have that clean smell. They didn't do full room cleaning daily and we were told that they only do that 2 time a week. We did get clean towels and new bedding when we requested it but this is not the experience I expect. We also found mold growing in our coffee maker and of course took that to the front desk. The front desk staff was disgusted and reported it to the GM. Immediately. They did apologize and make some accommodations for us and our room number became well known to the staff. Overall, it is a decent low cost get what you pay for hotel but if you are looking for a better experience, there are better hotels in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
The hotel is dated and the room wasn't overly clean. Continental breakfast in the AM was limited on choices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Twin Cities, MN

Stay elsewhere.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Staff was friendly at check-in. Our room had 2 full size beds and room for very little else. The room heater/AC was incredibly noisy but thankfully our room temp was comfortable with it off. We could hear the guy in the next room snoring at night and talking in the morning. The bathroom was clean but the towels were very scratchy. Bedding was fine but the beds were too soft for my taste. Breakfast area was very cramped as well. I've stayed in worse places but next time I'll pay extra and stay someplace nicer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2015 by Dave, Hotel Management
We are sorry to read that you found our staff friendly and our rooms clean, but felt you would not stay with us again. We do appreciate your feedback and will insure any of our linens or towels as you described are pulled from service and replace with new. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaks

Nice quiet retreat

Posted Sep 17, 2014
The room was large so as not to feel cramped. Love it has jacuzzi tub and deli sandwiches to buy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Dave, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Duluth, Mn

Emergency stay

Posted Aug 8, 2014
We went to Wilmar for a funeral. It was the most convenient hotel/motel. At such a short notice we had few choices. After we had booked and were on our way we ran upon a scathing review in Yelp website. We were somewhat anxious after reading it so we were very critical in observing the place. After serious inspection of the facility, we were relieved to find nothing that we would fault them for. The room and the public facilities were clean, modern and well maintained. The building and site was secure. We were provided with the usual provisions including a working refrigerator. I felt that the air conditioner was adequate but my wife was critical (I usually require a comforter and a blanket while she is under a single sheet). I felt the rate was a little high since they were not providing a pool or any recreation facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2015 by Dave, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We know a lot of travelers depend on other traveler reviews to help decide where to stay, and we are glad that you tried us despite some negative reviews. We are pleased we did not let you down, and hope that other travelers will give us a fair chance as well! Thanks again for taking the time to post your review!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Friendly staff and clean

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The staff was excellent - friendly, helpful and accommodating.
Cons: We had trouble finding it. We didn't see any bill boards or signs. At breakfast the "hot" food wasn't even warm. May had not been turned on???
Location: The location was fine, nice quiet street. But it was hard to find - didn't see any bill boards advertising.
My husband and I spent the night in Willmar, MN to enjoy a week end away and do a little fishing. I had made a reservation on line, but needed to change the dates. The staff was very helpful. We were looking for fishing spots, and the staff went out of their way, giving us a map and explaining it. We had booked the reservation for another day, but after check out time decided to head home. They cheerfully accommodated our late check out and cancelling one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Dave, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you found our staff to be so accommodating. We truly are committed to guest service, and will assist any and all of our guests as we did you. Sure hope you had some luck fishing! We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thanks again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pamela from Alexandria MN

A Good Nights Sleep

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: We liked this hotel's rate and easy location.
We needed a place to stay after a wedding and we wanted clean, that's what we got! Next time we stay there we will ask for a room off the highway to reduce traffic noise and get away from the smoke coming up from the outdoor employee smoking area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Dave, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating and kind comments. We are glad to hear that you we met your expectations, although we prefer to exceed them! We appreciate the feedback on the smoking area, and apologize that other guests were not considerate of where they gathered outside to smoke. Our staff will keep a better eye on that.