Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Hotel was great. We stayed 6 nights. Location is amazing if visiting Berlin. A one minute walk from the subway system and some food places. Breakfast buffet was exceptional and staff was always friendly. Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, great breakfast.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Lovely hotel, close to Ubahn. Only comment was that the pillows dissapear to nothing when you lie on them but the staff provided 4 extra ones when we asked. Overall a fabulous stay in a fabulous city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Berlin through a vintage scope

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful vintage building. Very near to everything. There are trains and buses less than 3 minutes from the hotel. Nice location and great reception.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place!

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel, fair prices and good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Reasonably priced

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The 20% off if you stay 3 nights plus the quirky decor was the reason I booked this hotel. It's a bit far out of the city but still easily accessible because of u-bahn. Staff behind the reception were fine but staff in breakfast room were much less friendly. Room was massive which was great but the tiniest towels ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great Value for Money!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Interesting, characterful decor, comfortable beds, great breakfast.
Cons: The only complaint I can see anyone having would be the distance from the city centre, but I don't think there's much that can be done to change that!
Location: There's a supermarket by the U-Bahn station and some good fast food places. Grab a currywurst mit pommes from "Crazy Potato" in the station!
This isn't the Ritz, it's not a Hilton, It's not even a Holiday Inn, so if that's what you're expecting, look elsewhere. I booked this hotel because the photos on the website conveyed an old school charm which caught my imagination. The photos are very reflective of what you will find in this hotel, mediterranean style tiled floors, large beds, and an old-timey aesthetic throughout. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well furnished. Breakfast is continental edging towards an eastern european style of meal, but there is a great deal of choice, and everything tasted great. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, and you get the impression that they really care about the hotel, the guests and their experience. Location wise you're a little further away from the centre of everything, if you're a walker like me you can be in the middle of Berlin in just over an hour, or you can hop on the U-Bahn at Fehrbellinerplatz Station which is a two minute walk from the door of the hotel. The U-Bahn will have you in most parts of Berlin in 20 minutes or less. In short, great hotel, great room, great experience!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kings Lynn Norfolk

Disappointed

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Berlin Excellent
Room looked lovely BUT when we booked it stated Tea & Coffee making facility's in room, Nothing. advert has changed. Radiator in room did not work so room was cold, night clerk informed spoke little English. Nothing done. Bed linen not change all week. BREAKFAST Excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Small and quite.
Location: Was a little out if the city but good if you want to relax after a busy day.
The hotel was exactly like the pictures. Breakfast was good but if you arrived later some things had gone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We absolutely loved the style. The room has no AC, but for us it was not a problem, as we traveled in September and the temperature at that time is not so high. The breakfast was delicious and offered plenty of choices. They also offered a large variety of coffees and teas. The mattress was awful and so the pillows. The hotel is located just 2 minutes away from the metro station and is close to the main attractions of the city. We wanted to rent bikes from the hotel, unfortunately they were all in a very bad shape.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not for Summertime Stays

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Room was quaint, but no air conditioning; short staircase to slow elevator; no screens on single window/door (it opened from the top and like a door) and rooms face or near major noisy thoroughfare; "king-size" bed seems to have double mattresses and single blankets for either side; no accessible AC outlets near bed or night stands and you have to pull the desk away from the wall to get to the outlets for desk use – only other accessible outlets weren't near any furniture; no true bath-sized towels. Great Georgian restaurant downstairs and a nice bar/cafe a block away in a park by the subway, but that's about it for restaurants within reasonable walking distance.