Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

A wonderful stay on the beach

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Everything posted in our experience.
Cons: Wi Fi on 3rd floor never worked, apparently is a dead zone. But other floors appeared to be fine
Staff is warm and friendly, grounds are beautiful and food in the restaurant is actually very good. We were there on our anniversary and they had a bottle of champagne chilling in the refrigerator and a plate of chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us in the room. Far exceeded our expectations, nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: On the beach.
Great location. Hotel was clean and the breakfast was delightful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Liked the location

Posted May 23, 2017
Loved the pool, very clean and comfortable! The breakfast was great too!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Michele, We are delighted to see you enjoyed the location, pool and breakfast. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Kristin Jones
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Beautiful Beach View

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location - close to beach and dining and shopping. Staff - very friendly and helpful Bed - very comfortable
Cons: It's older, so the a/c wasn't quite keeping up with the humidity on our visit.
Location: Plenty of seafood in walking or short driving distance. Shopping is a quick drive as well. Right on the beach, what else do you need?
We loved our stay at the Blockade Runner. The staff was very friendly and attentive. My friend fell in the parking lot and the valet parking staff were very aware and concerned to make sure she was OK. The decor is modern and tasteful, the breakfast buffet was good, the room was clean. We loved being right on the beach with amenities like chairs and umbrellas available as well. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is a little old, but it's kept very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Jennifer, Thank you for taking a moment to submit a review. It was such a pleasure spending time with you during your stay and allowing us an opportunity to improve in the areas mentioned. We look forward to your return next year! Sincerely, Kristin Jones
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Perfect location, all amenities provided.

Posted May 20, 2017
This will be one of the best resorts north of Miami once they renovate the bathrooms. The view was stunning, the pool, cafe, bar & beach were excellent and the food very good quality. As a resort, it's all-inclusive. You could enjoy a different activity every day and really never have to leave the property, though there is a great Mexican place & espresso shop just a block away. The hotel is old, though. The only place it really shows are the room & pool bathrooms. It wouldn't quite be comfortable for guests who are expecting pristine conditions. But, if you don't mind a little of the age showing, you will be quite happy here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Traveler, Thank you for the detailed account of your stay. Bathroom renovations are on the schedule for updates. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for posting the gorgeous sunset over the dock at BR! Sincerely, Kristin Jones
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, NC

4th annual trip with Water Aerobics classmates

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and service However, I think you have to tip for everything, ice, valet parking, etc
Cons: Room 337 ceiling was dripping in bathroom. Bathroom needs renovating
Location: We just stayed around the pool. Went to South Beach restaurant, excellent!
Service impeccable, breakfast wonderful! 4th annual trip
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Nancy, Thank you for the review. We have already resolved the issue in room 337 and I'd like to extend my apologies for the inconvenience during your stay. We are so glad you and your classmates returned for the 4th trip and we look forward to your return for trip #5! Sincerely, Kristin Jones
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent ocean side Hotel

Posted May 17, 2017
Great staff, ocean side garden and hotel décor for a stay at the beach. Restaurant food was very good. Walking distance to other restaurants and shops. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Great Location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: beach and pool access
Cons: bed comfort
Location: other restaurants nearby
The convenience of having the pool and the beach footsteps away was incredible! It's in walking distance to other restaurants on the island and a cafe up the street. Loved waking up to the view of the ocean in the morning. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and the staff was very friendly. Beds were not the most comfortable but we spent most of our time at the pool!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Good spot right on the beach

Posted May 9, 2017
Rooms were good. Location is great. Pool area is nice. Landscaping is very nice. Easy access to the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Health & Safety a Concern at this Beachfront Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, beach access, clean rooms, nice landscaping.
Cons: Security, security, security.
Location: You can buy passage on a boat to the beach areas further down the road, where vehicles cannot go. They drop you off and pick you up later in the day.
Pros: Clean rooms, nice beach access, great variety at the included breakfast buffet (although tips are heavily pushed so not really free), nice housekeeping staff. Convenient relationship with boat ride vendor across the street. Cons: An authorization of a significant amount is required on your credit card for each night you stay (even if you don't want to charge things to your room), staff make it difficult to pay for things separately and push to "charge it to your room". Items you normally get for yourself (ice, a drink at the breakfast buffet, etc) you have to ask for and receive from staff; not even allowed to move your own beach chairs that you rent for a lot of money (these policies seem designed to encourage tipping for their staff). Breakfast worker with infectious mouth sores passing out paper coffee cups and handling guest utensils; should clearly have been sent home but Mgr seemed confused by this suggestion. Security training is lax (front desk checked in my husband even though my name was the only one on the reservation, next day gave him an extra key card without asking for ID). Staff require you to state your NAME and ROOM # out loud to get breakfast or beach chairs, exposing access to your room to other guests who overhear. Hot tub is indoors and disgusting, towels for the pool hard to find. Parking is free but limited and cramped, overflow goes via valet (more staff tip opportunities).