Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great to experience the flotilla event

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Great location to the beach.
Cons: The bathrooms could use updating but were adequate.
Location: It's all about the beach. Close to Wilmington for shopping and historic sites.
I couldn't have chosen a better hotel to enjoy the Thanksgiving holiday with a great buffet feast and the annual flotilla parade along with other scheduled events throughout the weekend. Food was enjoyable. the staff was friendly and accommodating and the views were exceptional. I will make this a new holiday tradition.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilmington DE

A good hotel... could be great

Posted Nov 27, 2016
We stayed the weekend before Thanksgiving in room 416. The staff was great and the views from our room were outstanding. The breakfast is outstanding! The room was ok. The main issue was that the bathroom would spontaneously flood each night. We reported it to the staff and they brought towels. They did not remove the soaking wet towels (we left them in the hall). When we told the front desk, they were sorry but could not do anything to fix the issue. They sent us some courtesy fruit and chocolate covered strawberries but that was the extent of the hotel's effort. I know the hotel was full and we used Expedia but I was surprised no further adjustments/assistance was provided. The hotel was pretty good other than the water issue but a 1/4 inch covering your bathroom floor all the way into the hallway is gross!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Hotel is a little oldish. Great views and one of a kind decor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location on Wrightsville.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Location to downtown Wrightsville....just a short walk to restuarants and Roberts!
Cons: The bathrooms are really small and even tho the rooms are updated some of the walls, ceilings, etc. look very old.
Location: Location is great for walking to downtown Wrightsville or to walk the Loop which we love to do everyday.
Hotel is nice but a little tired in areas. Breakfast is fantastic and free. Great location to walk to the center of Wrightsville or to enjoy the loop without getting in the car!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel but inconsiderate of guests

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The hotel was having a charity event and allowed the event to blast music so loud it was disturbing and gave guests headaches it was so loud. This went on for two days!! The fundraiser was allowing people to repel off the side of the hotel past guests' rooms. 70 repelled past rooms just on Saturday morning. There was NO rest for any hotel guests. When complaints were registered with manager he offered for the shuttle to take our family up the beach where it was quieter and 3 and 4 yrs old children's ears would not be damaged by the noise levels. Oh and how would we potty and take afternoon naps?? Disaster. I want my money back. Will never go there again!!! Even when we checked in they did not inform us of this very disruptive event.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Oh gosh, I'm quite embarrassed we didn't let you know about the charity event. I appreciate you sharing your experience and moving forward we will ensure arriving guests are informed of on-site happenings. Sincerely, Kristin
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

LOVED the canal view room!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
My husband and I had a delightful "off-season" overnight stay at the Blockade Runner ... which included a delicious full hot breakfast. Pool area was delightful for relaxing and reading on a warm, sunny November day. Quick access to the beach for sunrise viewing and long walks along the ocean. Walking distance to a fabulous dinner at South Beach Grill. Can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Had a very enjoyable stay. Everyone was warm and welcoming!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Well kept older hotel.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Great location and very business friendly.
Location: Walking distance to dining and what shopping is available on the island. Great place for outdoor exercise like running and biking.
Second trip here for business. Once again the stay was very enjoyable. The hotel has been well kept. The staff is great. The breakfast is excellent. Look forward to returning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very pleased

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: Nice to be on the beach and close to restaurants that can be walked to. Short drive to shopping, movies, spas, etc. Great location.
Had four nights here in early November. A nice place with friendly staff. The food was very good - both the lunch we had and the daily breakfasts buffet. Grounds were well kept and the facility is very nicely appointed. Room was clean and comfortable. Some things show some where and tear but this building is 50+ years old so we expected that. We were glad we stayed here and would do so again. Only wrinkle was some wifi challenges in room which was an inconvenience since we were relying on it for info in exploring the area. Overall highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Kristin, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy many amenities of the resort. My apologies for the wifi experience. We are working hard to ensure our wifi offerings are up to date for all guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel on the beach.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: We liked the proximity to the beach and local restaurants. We liked the free Wi-Fi and that breakfast was included.
Cons: The parking lot is a bit tricky. The bathroom was a bit small.
Location: Great location. Minutes away from Oleander Blvd, Mayfaire Shopping, and Landfall. Lovely beach. Nice restaurants nearby.
Loved the room. Beds were great. Nice having a table and sitting chairs at the window looking out over the pool and ocean. Bathroom was a bit small, but shower was good and water temp and pressure good. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. Free Wi-Fi and hot breakfast buffet.