Ratings based on 618 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice walking distance to bars and shops

Posted Dec 4, 2016
The staff was friendly and accommodating, plenty of parking. The hotel is located in the middle of the business district so most places are within walking distance. Rooms were well kept and bathroom was nice and clean
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient to 95

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Beautiful town and location is convenient Older facility very attentive staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Megan at the front desk was very helpful. And the location is very close to the courthouse.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Double Tree Downtown Wilmington - Just OK

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Our beds were comfortable and the hotel was quiet despite the fact that two wedding parties were being housed there for the weekend.
Cons: Things seemed a little out-dated throughout the facility.
Location: Wilmington is a small jewel. Many cultural things to enjoy - theater, the zoo, museums, beautiful old churches, restaurants and parks.
I booked this hotel for a two night stay over a weekend in November. I was a little underwhelmed by the atmosphere. The lobby seemed unfinished somehow and the pool, while it was sizeable for a hotel, was in an area that looked like a large garage - not very inviting. The gym was pretty nice with a variety of equipment, all in good repair. I did not go to the bar or eat in the restaurant, so I cannot attest to those facilities. Our room was reasonably clean - big clumps of dust on top of lamps, but the beds were very comfortable. I had asked for a room with a view of the city, but was given one on the third floor that had a lovely view of the top of the roof with all the HVAC equipment. I was too tired to complain, so I just drew the curtains.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: It was clean and the staff were friendly and out going
Cons: The pillows in the rooms. The loud construction. I don't like the review page.
Location: There is nothing to do around the hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Nice looking hotel but little things were broken such as the fridge cabinet, air conditioning and drains.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

dont waste your money

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The Front Desk workers
Cons: Everything else and now I am out several dollars for no sleep, the fire alarms were due to guests smoking, the need to control it and told me it "happ
Location: Downtown, lots of one way streets and told not to wander outside hotel for safety reasons!!
My first night there on Saturday, October 15, 2016 was a nightmare. After flying across country from California and being up for 48 hours I was exhausted when I checked in and didn't notice much in the room being exhausted. However th Fire Alarms went off THREE times during the night having to evacuate the hotel, 3 fire trucks checked the building each time and cleared guests back in, I went to Front Desk still exhausted and asked about credit for my room, they said they couldn't credit me since I booked through Expedia. Prepaid I was stuck there for 2 more nights with my 24 year old daughter joining me late the next night, when she entered the room she looked up and said "what's wrong with the ceiling?" I looked up and there was a huge crack, my daughter stood on the bed and pushed on ceiling and it was soft and pushed in!! While on the bed she also saw many pieces of gum stuck on the top of the bed headboards, DISGUSTING!!!! They gave us a new room but not much better. We had to stay an extra night in Willmington as we were there to visit my terminal mother and let me tell you we checked out of that downtown hotel in a heartbeat and booked the Hilton Double Tree in Wilmington on Concord Pike where we had a delightful stay although had to spend an additional $200 for the night, way out of our fragile budget. I will continue to use Expedia but please take the Hilton Double Tree downtown Wilmington DE off your list, I have never had an experience such as this nor should anyone
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel & exceptional staff, but...

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: I liked this hotel because of it's location, cleanliness, staff's friendliness and hospitality.
Cons: I wasn't pleased with this hotel's communication about parking. Also their failure to space the room bookings out over all of their floors.
Location: A great location. Several restaurants and bars within walking distance. Easy to access from the highway.
We had an interesting experience. I booked this hotel while traveling to DE from TN for a wedding. We were exhausted & looking for a high quality hotel that felt would ensure a peaceful night's sleep. Night one was amazing (comfortable beds, clean rooms), with the exception of the front desk staff not sharing the details of the parking situation. She said that she would "bill our room for parking," but didn't follow-up with the important detail that I needed to have every parking voucher stamped/validated. We ended up paying double parking for day one & the lady I spoke with the next morning told me there was nothing they could do to help me, even though we were paying double. So, if you choose this hotel & add parking to your room, you need to have your parking voucher validated EACH TIME you get a new ticket. Our second night, I won't share the ridiculous details, but I will tell you this... the fire alarm was 'activated:' thankfully the hotel & their staff were prepared. They made sure all guests were calm & safe. I've never experienced anything like this in all of my years of traveling, but I am grateful that I was here at the DoubleTree when I did. Like I said, they were prepared, all guests (that I encountered) were calm & the staff kept their composure. The staff that I had contact with maintained their hospitality & grace. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for travel during the week. However, the weekend... I would suggest looking elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartly, Delaware

Down town

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Clean and very friendly staff.
Cons: Parking was expensive and not explained clearly.
Location: Down town and close to I95.
Hotel staff were very friendly and greeted us well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff very nice.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, location.
Cons: Air conditioning temperature varied a lot between when it was on and when it was off.
Location: Liked being near the waterfront. Enjoyed the Hagley Museum. Wilmington is a very good town.
Van driver Harry especially helpful. Self parking was good, but the parking pay machine didn't take credit cards although it said it did.