Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

1.8 out of 5
21% of guests recommend
1.9 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
1.8 Room comfort
1.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever!!

Posted Feb 18, 2016
I slipped trying to get to my room and the manager acted as if it wasn't a concern issue to throw salt on the ice outside. They put me in a smoking room, which I was booked for nonsmoking. The room smelled awful and the bathroom was nasty. The tub looked dirty and the toilet was rusty. Worst experience ever!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Point, Ne

Worn and dirty rooms

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Blankets had burn marks. Rug not vacuumed. Wallpaper peeling off wall. Smell of marijuana smoke constant in other rooms. Even saw a guest walk to his car with a lit joint. Found a broken crack pipe in my room. The bed hurt my back due to a dip in the mattress. Remote to tv covered in grime. Cinder block patched a hole in the tub. I had to put the do not disturb sign on afraid the staff would come in and dirty up the room with more terrible sheets after I stripped the old ones and used my own cleaning the room and disenfecting it with sprays. If I wasn't locked in paying in advance with no refund option. I would never had stayed a night nor a whole week. Also it was the 1st time I seen a box tv in a long time. Ghetto hotel all the way. Almost forgot about the musty couch they had in the room, looked like it was found on a curb after a rain storm. I wouldn't go near it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Stay somewhere else.

Posted Jul 7, 2015
there were multiple No Smoking signs in the lobby, yet the entire area wreaked of smoke. Requested a non-Smoking room but was not given one. We arrived at 2 a.m. So we didn't protest, just wanted to sleep. There were fruit flys all over the sink. The bathroom was old and the tub stained and looked dirty. Positive thing was that the bed was comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location on 13,

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: the location, close to other businesses.
Cons: upgrade and new MATTRESSES
Location: Several things in Delaware to do: Shopping, other recreations.
Not pleased with the room provided. Not able to stay because of the condition. It may have been pleasing to others. After Spraying and saw uninvited guest in the room, I could not stay. what else do I need to say? Not acceptable in 2015. Room should be clean and not able to see spots on the mattress. After every stay and every month the entire room should be washed down with disinfect.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Castle

The worst place-the room was so darn dirty.

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!!
I was so embrassed to have my friends there, I will never go there again. I will not recommend that place to no one. The bathroom was so filthy and the covers had burn holes in them it was disgusting. The T.V. had snow on it-where was the cable, I was so angry that I left and returned in the morning. My friend would not let me go inside because I was going to give them a piece of my mind. Econo-Lodge the Worst Hotel I have ever seen-it should be a Motel, how dirty it is. That was my experience with that place-the Worst!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phila, PA

One of the Worst Places I have Ever Stayed

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything: management, cleanliness, repairs to upgrade, very old
Location: University of Delaware and Mall
There was not enough towels, when we asked they stated they are booked, so they are low. Nobody came to clean the room or change towels the next day. The access to the hotel is dangerously located within competing routes intersecting to the entrance of the hotel. The clerk refused to print a copy of our checkout bill with zero balance. The management needs to be changed. The only reason we did not leave it was because all hotels were booked due to the Parent's Weekend at the University of Delaware; so we had no other choice. We would never stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Dropped off luggage in the afternoon. Came back at 12:30 am. Several lights did not work in the bedroom, had to use bathroom light for bedroom. The TV did not work. I thought it was too late to call anyone. Will not stay here on my return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

EconoLodge is worth the savings.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Staff was cordial.
Cons: Lots of birds living in overhang because of structural gaps. They can keep you awake at night. Recommend blocking gaps.
Room was comfortable and had the necessary things for travelers, microwave, fridge, TV, hair dryer, etc. I found the room to be more spacious and in better condition than the room we recently had at Ramada Inn in Harrisonburg, VA.
2 out of 5
by Cobra from MA

Annoying night!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything especially a more modern fire alarm system at the fire station that doesn't wake everyone that is trying to get a good nights sleep.
Location: Many restaurants and within 30 to 40 minutes of Dover Downs Speedway.
The hotel is in need of renovation and not well maintained. The room was somewhat clean but very poor appearance when you enter the room when you notice apparent repairs to the ceiling and walls with poor workmanship. The major issue was the fire alarm from the fire department across the street at 2:00 and 4:00 AM! Not a very good night of sleep at all. The location for our purpose was ideal but I would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very good location near Wilmington Airport.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: The location to the Wilmington Airport. It is just a couple of miles from it. Again, the staff was very pleasant.
Cons: The bath tub. It looks very old.
Location: The Farmer's Market is very close by.
The staff was pleasant and answered any questions my husband or I had. I informed the person at the front desk that my husband and I had a very early flight out of Wilmington the following morning and we wanted to know about the Continental Breakfast hours. The woman I spoke to was very pleasant and said she would make sure everything was set up for us in the morning in plenty of time so we could get something to eat and still be able to leave on time for our flight. My husband and I were very impressed. We spent only one night at the Econo Lodge Airport, but it was fine and we would stay there again if necessary.