Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Great view, wonderful location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The bedroom was very comfortable; the housekeeping staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The location is really excellent.
Cons: Bathroom-check the drains in the tubs.....
Location: The Basics-great food, very hospitable wait staff, surprisingly inexpensive.
Our room was comfortable and looked directly at The Cotton Exchange. All was delightful except that the hot water for the bathroom sink took over ten minutes to get warm (ten minutes from the time I began looking at my watch) and the shower water got ankle deep in the tub. As we got off the elevator, someone had left an empty box of Bojangle's on the chair directly in front of the elevator. That night, at 2:00am, young men were yelling down the hall and then slamming against the walls. It was upsetting. It lasted for about 30 minutes. I didn't call downstairs, but I also didn't want to be in the position of calling downstairs. Again, this and the Bojangles trash weren't the fault of the hotel. But it certainly marred the impression I had of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing a review of our hotel. We are glad that you liked our friendly associates, convenient location and your comfortable room along with the view it provides. However, we regret that your stay was less than perfect. We appreciate you bringing your observations to our attention and hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Thank you, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great Location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: staff
Location: Great location for the Chocolate and Wine Festival and shopping
Excellent staff and room. Very helpful with transportation to events and transport of luggage
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Bekki, it is a pleasure reading about the excellent service you received at Hilton Wilmington Riverside. Everything we do is aimed at providing a wonderful experience for our guests, so thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our efforts. We are also glad to know you were highly pleased with our convenient location within walking distance to so many attractions and also with the shuttle service we provide. Thanks again for being our guest, we hope you will choose us again whenever you are back in the area. Thank you, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, NC

Great hotel in downtown Wilmington

Posted Jan 22, 2017
I had an awesome time and absolutely loved my room. I will definitely be staying here in the future. It's a good chance I'll stay every time I come to visit Wilmington.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jeremy, thank you for your outstanding feedback! It is always a delight to read a guest has experienced a great night's sleep and enjoyed our comfortable and spacious rooms. Thanks again for staying at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Thank you, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Jan 19, 2017
I was disappointed that the hotel charges $11 per night for parking. Wilmington is not a big city and this extra charge seems unreasonable. Also, there is no complimentary breakfast which was also disappointing. I had ordered a glass of wine as in-room service and it was terrible! Will think twice before staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review online. We are happy you had an overall pleasant stay at our hotel. However, I'm sorry you were disappointed with our parking fee. We review our pricing regularly to make sure that we are priced competitively. Thanks again for being our guest, and please give us another opportunity to serve you with a much better experience. Thank you, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nc

I didn't get the room that I reserved

Posted Jan 19, 2017
It's very nice stuff, hotel is good, but I didn't get the room I want! The water front view
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing a review of our hotel. We are pleased your visit was overall pleasant with the exception of a few issues. I apologize for not providing the specific room type you booked. It is never our intention to disappoint you. We hope you will consider a return visit and let us make it up to you. Thank you, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Nice hotel.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Clean room and great staff. Close to shops and restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for reviewing your stay at Hilton Wilmington Riverside. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that your stay with us was a great one and you loved your spotless room, our location and exceptional service. Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Stay at Hilton properties all the time this one is not up to their usual standards. Rooms need updating. Best things were the location easy walk to restuarants and shops and river views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and sharing your feedback! We are pleased you had an overall pleasant stay and loved our location on the beautiful Cape Fear River boardwalk and close to all activities that Wilmington area has to offer. However, I am sorry we missed meeting some of your expectations and hope you will give us another chance to deliver an outstanding experience on your next visit. Thank you, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Our room smelled due to the wet carpet. It smelled like mildew.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Riverside View

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The view of the USS North Carolina was amazing! And the hotel staff was great at helping with my needs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 12, 2016
The room was extremely comfortable. Very desirable.