Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
It was very clean, the staff was friendly, it is very good for the price. We stayed here to go to Carolina Beach, since it's so much cheaper and not very far. Very nice place
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share positive review following your visit here in our hotel. Please know that we value your business, we will do our best to make your next visit a better experience. We hope to see you again. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington

Nice, Spotless Stay

Posted Jan 28, 2017
This Howard Johnsons is renovated, with spaceous rooms, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms close to the busy city full of shops and restaurants. The perfect place for travelers to this wonderful area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for taking the time to share with us your review. I am glad that you found your room clean. Please know that we value your business, we will do our best to make your next visit another 5* rating worthy experience. Kind regards.
4 out of 5
by jernellda

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel staff was very accommodating with changes of the room linens could of been a little cleaner but over great for the price and I would stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Wi-Fi and Clothes Iron

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: The price was okay, but not worth it to me.
Cons: Everything that I mentioned.
Location: The location is decent and there are things to do nearby.
The motel is being remodeled and probably won't be greatly improved. I hope I am wrong, though. I had room 234, which is toward the back in another building from the main building. The Wi-Fi was slow and unreliable that would lose connection often. There was also no way to hard wire for internet service. The clothes iron was the other issue. There was no iron or board in the room, but they did track one down for me. However, the iron I received was in bad shape and left white marks on my clothes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced following your stay with us. We hope to have the chance to serve you again. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by ALLEN

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Room was dated, dead bolt did not work, and chain latch was missing 2 screws, so was useless. Beds were ok, and plenty of hot water.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Disgusting. Room stunk bathroom was dirty sheets had stains
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry you were uncomfortable during your visit here at our hotel. Your feedback on the status of clean, very concerning. This will be called to the attention of our housekeeping for verification. Thank you for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Roaches, hair, dirty tub, and stains

Posted Dec 10, 2016
If we had not got there so late I would have packed my family back up and went to another room. First in the room inspection seemed fine then I turned on all the lights and started seeing the issues. We found roaches, stains on the covers ect., hairs and black specs all in the sheets that looked like that had already been slept on, and the bath tub was nasty. No breakfast like it was said that they have (I wouldn't have ate it anyways due to conditions around the complex) Looked like it has never seen bleach. I killed a roach and put it in a gun wrapped and dropped it on the front counter and told them they had major issues. The guy wasn't surprised to see it. Just said since we stayed he would take 20%off. Also at check in they were trying to charge me $100 for the one night when I had booked through here and it was supposed to be $76.22 with taxes. This place is a disgusting joke. Read reviews on google for more accurate reviews on this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Preston, I regret that you were uncomfortable and found the condition of clean sub par during your visit. Your feedback will be forwarded to our management for evaluation, I assure you that your concern will be verified and addressed appropriately. Thank you for staying with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vienna VA

No breakfast and wifi even though we paid for it

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Great location. Close to downtown Wilmington and the beach. When we checked in everything was good but our room had no service for wifi, the morning we woke up for breakfast and it was not breakfast due to renovation but no one told us about it so it was a bad surprise. I left the hotel pretty upset as we didn't get any compensation for the lack of wifi and breakfast even though we paid for it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Alice, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Your feedback will be called to the attention of concerned staff for corrective measure. I do apologize for the issue with the wifi connection during your stay, it was called to the attention of our ISP as this aspect is not in our team's capability to address. Thank you for staying with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Roaches

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Town is fun.
Cheap! You get what you pay for. The sheets were clean (I think), and bathroom was decent. The room had a funny smell and the last day I found a roach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Miranda, Thank you for your time in completing our survey and for giving us your feedback following your stay. I apologize for the discomfort you experienced, your comment on the condition of clean in the guest room you occupied will be called to the attention of our housekeeping, this is very unlikely as we have pest control company that regularly schedules treatment in our property,. Nonetheless, your review will not go unnoticed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Fair
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are happy to hear from you and are glad you had a good stay. We hope to serve you again when you return this way.