Ratings based on 735 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynchburg, VA

Centrally located. Newly remodeled.

Posted May 13, 2017
For me the hotel was centrally located close to everything I needed. Grocery store, gas station, fast food, bank, etc...and most of all probably one of the most unique sports bars in Wilmington. From the outside the hotel looks like the price you pay for it, once entering the room it was a complete 180. The AC was on, the room was clean and offered amenities such as a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker that other hotels don't offer at such a low rate. The bathroom and sink area outside of the bathroom was also very clean and well lit. The non smoking room I was in had not the slightest hint of a smoke smell (assuming the rooms were all smoking at one point) The hotel may have a low rating but all I can say is by looking at the hotel from the outside... Don't judge a book by it's cover. 15 mins to the beach and 15 minutes to Downtown. Overall I give it 5 stars and for sure will be back next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
It is so rewarding that you have rated us so highly. We greatly appreciate that you've taken the time to tell us what a wonderful impression our staff made with their efforts to make your stay comfortable. Thank you so much for the compliments of our high housekeeping standards and that our amenities lived up to your expectations.We thank you so much for you loyalty and we are all looking forward to your next visit, hope it will be just as enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly

Good for a one night stop

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The room was ok. We were traveling to Charlston from Philly and just needed a room off the highway to sleep for the night. On the most part the room was fine they seem to be working on updating the rooms. The tub was dirty but the rest of the room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear of the shortcomings of our housekeeping staff in ensuring good quality of clean in the bathroom. This will be called to the attention of the team to ensure this same issue is avoided moving forward. Thank you for staying with us, please inform our front desk for your concerns on your next visit. Kind regard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
It was very clean, the staff was friendly, it is very good for the price. We stayed here to go to Carolina Beach, since it's so much cheaper and not very far. Very nice place
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share positive review following your visit here in our hotel. Please know that we value your business, we will do our best to make your next visit a better experience. We hope to see you again. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was clean, nice, and spacious. Sadly, we had trouble sleeping because of noisy neighbors that sounded like they were having some kind of social party. Talking like they were at their private home both Friday and Saturday. I thought getting a nonsmoking room will help keep a peaceful environment. It's only wise if you walk around your hotel just to make sure your tennants are happy. They do get loud. You either win or loose stars... I'd give this hotel 2 stars only because I didn't get enough sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
It was nice for what it is. Didn't want to walk thru the room without socks or shoes because of the floor not being cleaned well. We went and bought some disinfectant and some bleach spray for the showers and toilets. But overall was decent.The staff was friendly as well. Breakfast was free and surprisingly decent. Would definitely stay again, just know to stop by the store and purchase cleaning supplies first..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington

Nice, Spotless Stay

Posted Jan 28, 2017
This Howard Johnsons is renovated, with spaceous rooms, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms close to the busy city full of shops and restaurants. The perfect place for travelers to this wonderful area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for taking the time to share with us your review. I am glad that you found your room clean. Please know that we value your business, we will do our best to make your next visit another 5* rating worthy experience. Kind regards.
4 out of 5
by jernellda

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel staff was very accommodating with changes of the room linens could of been a little cleaner but over great for the price and I would stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Wi-Fi and Clothes Iron

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: The price was okay, but not worth it to me.
Cons: Everything that I mentioned.
Location: The location is decent and there are things to do nearby.
The motel is being remodeled and probably won't be greatly improved. I hope I am wrong, though. I had room 234, which is toward the back in another building from the main building. The Wi-Fi was slow and unreliable that would lose connection often. There was also no way to hard wire for internet service. The clothes iron was the other issue. There was no iron or board in the room, but they did track one down for me. However, the iron I received was in bad shape and left white marks on my clothes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced following your stay with us. We hope to have the chance to serve you again. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by ALLEN

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Room was dated, dead bolt did not work, and chain latch was missing 2 screws, so was useless. Beds were ok, and plenty of hot water.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Disgusting. Room stunk bathroom was dirty sheets had stains
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry you were uncomfortable during your visit here at our hotel. Your feedback on the status of clean, very concerning. This will be called to the attention of our housekeeping for verification. Thank you for letting us know.