Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fourth visit to Montchanin Inn

Posted Jan 9, 2015
And we love coming back each year. It's a very comfortable low key environment and it's nice to know that you can expect a high level of consistency each time
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Great get away! Close to home.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We loved it...restaurant was very good & room service in the morning was awesome. Very disappointed that they did not put us in the room we requested. (They had given it away on us) But, we will be going back......
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Dec 15, 2014
After checking in to the facility we were shown to a room not as described to me on the phone. This room was the size of a shoebox and looked like something from the fifties. It was located at a very noisy intersection and a train was passing nearby. The room fee was $175.00 but should have been $75.00 for the value. The woman that checked us in was very nice. We decided not to stay and she said we would not be charged. Before staying at this faciliity be sure you know exactly what you are getting. Perhaps some of the other rooms were nicer, but that is not what we were shown. The photos are very misleading. we were there at a very busy time and ended up canceling plans rather than stay at this place for the money they wanted. We skipped our event(which we had paid $60.00 for) and drove home that night. Traffic was horrendous.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Charming village

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Individual charm. Spa and restaurant within easy walking distance.
Cons: TV only worked the first night, but who needs TV.
Location: Loved touring Winterthur and the Chaddsford Winery. Not enough time for Longwood Gardens, but would love to visit in spring.
Pleasant room with many comforts. Spa and Krazy Kat restaurant were wonderful. The duck was delicious. Side trip to Winterthur was fun. Opening weekend of the holiday tour and Downton Abbey costumes. Even had afternoon tea. Convenient side trips to museums and the Chaddsford Winery. Chill in the air, but warmed by lovely fireplaces in the restaurant, spa and great room. Definitely a nice getaway.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our second year and still wonderful.m

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Having an excellent restaurant on site is a plus.
Cons: Price
Location: Museums
Relaxing and has a homey feeling while being upscale in service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA


Posted Sep 26, 2014
Cons: How to get to the check in is confusing, it probably should be spelled out with the reservation
Location: Winterthur and Longwood Gardens
When I reserved my wife balked at the price. When we left she said that it was well worth it. Very luxurious with a definite european feel. Everything is top notch from the heated towel racks to the nightly turn down, free sodas and water in the fridge and chocolate left at night. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

A relaxing place for a little r and r.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The individual cottages and the neat spa.
Cons: I would believe that the housekeeping services be addressed at check in.The front desk checks at noon for any requests .
Location: The on site spa, wintertime and the beautiful Brandywine valley.
A Lovely place to recharge your battery. Superior accommodation with a great spa. Krazy Kats restaurant offers delicious and innovative dishes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, pity about the view.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
This is an agreeable place, with helpful staff. However, we were given a room whose windows on two sides looked out onto concrete walls - a half-basement location. As we were visiting to enjoy the countryside, this was very disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Charming hotel! Loved the grounds and the individual cottages. Restaurant was great as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and elegant

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, rooms, restaurant, common room.
Cons: Sound of refrigerator was loud, as were neighbors overhead.
Location: Surrounded by fabulous estates and museums.
The staff was very courteous and helpful. The location was lovely. The arrangement of cottages was charming and historically significant. The common room was inviting and elegant, as were the individual cottages. The restaurant was lovely and the food was well prepared.