Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great pet-friendly hotel close to downtown & beach

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Pet-friendly, great location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable, affordable
Cons: Wish they had wine opener that I could have borrowed
Location: Very close to downtown Wilmington (toured the historic district, went on a ghost walk, walked along the river walk) and the beach.
My husband and fur-baby came to town for a 4 night stay. We loved the hotel staff, who was very welcoming and accommodating. The hotel and room were clean, modern, comfortable and had all the conveniences that we needed. We were pleasantly surprised to have a full fridge, microwave, sink, dishwasher, cooktop and cooking utensils. The breakfast was just enough. The only negative was that the hotel didn't have a wine opener or ice machine. We went to Target (very close to the hotel) to buy a wine opener and the staff was very kind to go to their sister hotel right next door to get us ice from their ice machine. We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to stay there again the next time we are in Wilmington!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Amanda Brown-Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jenn, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such valuable feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and that you felt our staff was friendly and accommodating. All of our refrigerators have ice machines in the freezer portion; however, I do understand the inconvenience of not having an accessible instant ice machine. I will absolutely take your suggestion about the wine opener and get a new one promptly. We have had one in the past, but it seems the previous user must not have returned it. I am glad you intend to return to the property for your future visits and intend to have all the issues you encountered resolved prior to your next stay. Warm Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Free Breakfast

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Cons: I don't think our sheets were changed when the cleaners came in to clean up. Poor breakfast selection
left much to be desired. Very plain and limited selections
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Amanda Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am so dissappointed that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay. As we are designed to be an extended stay hotel, we do daily cleaning of guest rooms and of course will certainly offer full service upon guest request. Our breakfast is continental and offers a variety of quick, complementary options. I so appreciate your feedback as we require reviews to continue to improve upon our service and overall guest satisfaction. I so hope you will consider choosing us in the future so that we may provide a better experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

Its okay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The postives. Price was good per night and location is about 20 mins from downtown, and both carliona and Wrightsville beach were close. The bad. Room smelled like they were trying to cover up a puke smell with cleaner.. the maid came literally came in picked rhe sheets off the floor and threw them on the bed.. cleaning service was horrible.. Didnt get a good feeling about sleeping in the bed as everything seemed a bit dirty
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Amanda Brown-Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. I am so disappointed that our service and accommodations did not exceed your expectations. I will absolutely use your valuable review to correct anything in housekeeping that led to the problems you encountered. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to go above and beyond in providing you a memorable experience!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

Room paid in full 4 months ago & WAS GIVEN AWAY!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Cons: Do not give away rooms that are paid for. This was not a reservation. My card was charged 4 months ago!
Our Room was paid in full 4 months ago & WAS GIVEN AWAY! We went to check in at 940pm and they said they were full. Another patron had complained about their room and they gave ours away to them. We waited for almost an hour in the lobby. They gave us the room from the party that had complained. There were no other rooms available in Wilmington as it was Sat., July1st. It was dirty with pretzels and stuff in the sink. The linens were used. There was no shampoo, no toilet paper on roll, no towels and soap had been used.A plumber was in the bathroom when we got in the room still fixing it, so we could not even use the bathroom until he finished fixing it.We asked for a refund or compensation for another night. This was unacceptable. They said the manager was not available until Monday and could not give us a resolution. We had no choice but to stay there as everything else was booked solid.Why was a manager not available on the biggest weekend of the year for travelers? It has been 2 days and have not had a resolution nor anyone contact us yet. Very unpleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Amanda Brown Front Desk Manager , Hotel Management
I am sincerely apologetic for your experience. I have just taken over the Front Desk Management position and having read your review, I find your treatment unacceptable. Though as I mentioned, I was not present at the time of the incident, I am alarmed by the fact that you were not contacted. We always strive to exceed expectations and I hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to provide the exceptional service our guests deserve. Please feel free to call me this week to further discuss the problems you encountered.
4 out of 5
by Stacy

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
I love the full kitchen. Didn't cook anything but a full-size refrigerator is a must. Local area was very nice, especially the battleship. Staff was friendly and accommodating. My only complaint, had a couple of issues with our doorkey losing his code. But they were very prompt to respond.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel great for families and close to the beach.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The rooms were very big and had everything our family of 5 needed to stay comfortably. The pool was a great bonus for the kids. The location was great and surrounded by lots of different restaurants for easy access to food. The hotel was also just a quick drive away from the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Amanda Brown , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review. I am so pleased to hear that you had an exceptional experience. We hope you will continue to choose our property for your future accommodation needs! Thank you again!
5 out of 5
by sharon

great time in Wilmington

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
First time in Wilmington. We were there for a family wedding. Our suite had everything we needed for our stay. Would definitely do it again. Thanks to all the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

good place.

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Location: nice location, convenient to food and retail stores.
easy. nice personnel, quiet, good breakfast, helpful. I recommend.
5 out of 5
by Cathy

Wilmington Mainstay Suites- Fabulous

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay! Clean, spacious, quiet room!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service, Large rooms

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great customer service by staff, very professional. Good value hotel. I would stay here again. Large rooms and comfortable.