Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great pet-friendly hotel close to downtown & beach

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Pet-friendly, great location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable, affordable
Cons: Wish they had wine opener that I could have borrowed
Location: Very close to downtown Wilmington (toured the historic district, went on a ghost walk, walked along the river walk) and the beach.
My husband and fur-baby came to town for a 4 night stay. We loved the hotel staff, who was very welcoming and accommodating. The hotel and room were clean, modern, comfortable and had all the conveniences that we needed. We were pleasantly surprised to have a full fridge, microwave, sink, dishwasher, cooktop and cooking utensils. The breakfast was just enough. The only negative was that the hotel didn't have a wine opener or ice machine. We went to Target (very close to the hotel) to buy a wine opener and the staff was very kind to go to their sister hotel right next door to get us ice from their ice machine. We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to stay there again the next time we are in Wilmington!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Amanda Brown-Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jenn, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such valuable feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and that you felt our staff was friendly and accommodating. All of our refrigerators have ice machines in the freezer portion; however, I do understand the inconvenience of not having an accessible instant ice machine. I will absolutely take your suggestion about the wine opener and get a new one promptly. We have had one in the past, but it seems the previous user must not have returned it. I am glad you intend to return to the property for your future visits and intend to have all the issues you encountered resolved prior to your next stay. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Theresa

Good service, bad billing

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
My billing was done incorrectly. I got billed by Hotels.com and the hotel so i was double billed. I am still trying to fix.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Free Breakfast

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Cons: I don't think our sheets were changed when the cleaners came in to clean up. Poor breakfast selection
left much to be desired. Very plain and limited selections
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Amanda Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am so dissappointed that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay. As we are designed to be an extended stay hotel, we do daily cleaning of guest rooms and of course will certainly offer full service upon guest request. Our breakfast is continental and offers a variety of quick, complementary options. I so appreciate your feedback as we require reviews to continue to improve upon our service and overall guest satisfaction. I so hope you will consider choosing us in the future so that we may provide a better experience.
5 out of 5
by carolina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

Its okay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The postives. Price was good per night and location is about 20 mins from downtown, and both carliona and Wrightsville beach were close. The bad. Room smelled like they were trying to cover up a puke smell with cleaner.. the maid came literally came in picked rhe sheets off the floor and threw them on the bed.. cleaning service was horrible.. Didnt get a good feeling about sleeping in the bed as everything seemed a bit dirty
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Amanda Brown-Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. I am so disappointed that our service and accommodations did not exceed your expectations. I will absolutely use your valuable review to correct anything in housekeeping that led to the problems you encountered. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to go above and beyond in providing you a memorable experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good deal!

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Price and availability.
Cons: N/A
Location: Aquariums, restaurants. Beach is 30 minutes away.
Ease of check in and check out. Didn't mind sharing a pool with the neighboring hotel. Staff was pleasant and accommodating. Would consider staying here again, except I really wanted to be closer to the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Amanda Brown Front Desk Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are located a short, drivable distance from the beautiful wrightsville beach, but we offer better accommodations at a better rate than is available on the ocean front. I am so pleased to hear that our staff made your stay more pleasant as customer service is our top priority. We certainly hope you will choose our property for future accommodation needs in Wilmington!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family Vacation

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at MainStay Suites. Overall, our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Although the the room had some updates, some of the main areas of the hotel needed repair or update. The area around the elevator was dirty and had a musty/ cigarette odor. The breakfast was ok, not much for choices. Also note that the hotel shares a pool with the Sleep Inn next door. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was great. There are several restaurants close by and only 5mi to Wrightsville Beach. If in the area again, we would consider staying here again.
5 out of 5
by Halle

Right at home

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
We loved our stay here. The rooms are spacious and the entire place is clean. The breakfast was mediocre but I still enjoyed it. There wasn't wifi....bummer! The pool was nice. Parking was convenient. I would stay here again without hesitation. I would just bring more kitchen supplies if staying for a decent amount of time.
4 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels