Ratings based on 491 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best waffles!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Simple to find, close to the beach. Right where we wanted to be
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Radford Va

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: That it is close to everything.The staff was friendly and accommadating.
Cons: Better handicapped parking in the front of the hotel. My mother in law had to park on the other side of the hotel because there was none in the front
Location: Kure Beach,Carolina Beach Boardwalk, Ft Fisher Aquarium,Winners Sea Cruises,Mini Golf
We had a nice stay, the kids loved the salt water pool. If you chose dining near by Bowman's next door is great and they deliver. Will return in the future. They proved plenty of extra towels for both rooms when we asked. The only issue we had was the last day there before we left was small children unattended running down the hall knocking on doors and a call to the front desk fixed that issue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Not as nice as I had expected

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Comfy beds, decent pool, friendly staff
Cons: Paint job- that sounds weird for a hotel, but whoever painted did a really bad job...it just made the room look cheap.
Location: Close to Carolina Beach, restaurants, and stores.
Rooms were small and dated. Beds were comfy, which was a definite plus. Staff was extremely friendly. Continental breakfast had a decent selection. Air conditioner was loud, room was okay overall,but definitely not as nice as other Microtel hotels we have stayed in. Truthfully, we expected more in terms of room/bathroom size. We were only here for one night, so it wasn't the end of the world, but I would not have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Close to the beach. The cont breakfast was great and convient. It was comfy and kid friendly. The only complaint I have is that the rooms smell really musty. And the water pressure sucks. But we will definitely stay again next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Got the Job Done

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location and room size
Cons: Location of the smoking area.
Location: Boardwalk is close and it's right beside a beach store and restaurant.
We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in Carolina Beach due to it's proximity to the boardwalk (~0.25 miles) and the relatively low cost. Probably the best cost/location hotel so I wasn't expecting it to be extravagant. I will say that the actual hotel room was relatively clean and it was exactly what I wanted. I got the "suite" which is really just a queen bed and a pullout sofa separated by a small "kitchen" area. The kitchen area really only had a sink and a small mini fridge. BUT...it was perfect for our family so our kids could sleep on the bed and we could sleep on the pull out couch and had a small amount of privacy at night. Now for the bad: 1. I called a few days before we arrived just to double check stuff and was placed on hold as soon as they answered. To be honest, the lady was pretty rude and asked me if I could hold, but placed me on hold before I could even answer. Then she did it again. And then one more time for good measure. I don't mind being on hold, but let me answer first. 2. The first night we were in the room I noticed that the door latch lock was broken off and I called down to the front desk and told them. They immediately come up to the room and checked. They said they would fix it first thing in the morning. They never came. 3. The employees smoke literally right out the front door of the lobby. If you want to come in or leave, you go through smoke.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

It was close to the beach, that is about it.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The staff was friendly, and when we complained about a GIANT WET SPOT on the CARPET when we first checked in, we were given a late check out.
Cons: New carpets, new paint, new bathroom fixtures, rip out the old grout and tiles in the BR, attention to details and quality, more food for breakfast.
Location: This hotel is about 2 blocks from the beach. That was nice, but not nice enough to make up for the dirty room. Stay farther away, get a clean room.
Well, at least it was close to the beach. That's pretty much the only good thing. However, I would have rather driven a few miles and felt that my room was clean, because I did not feel that way at all. I payed a total of $212.00 for one night. For that kind of money, you would think the room would at least be decent, if not nice. No. The room had a smell of feet cheese? maybe? with a very heavy perfume odor to cover it up. This smell hit you like a wave when you walked in the room. The carpet looked dirty and grimey, I wore my flip flops to the bathroom, even in the middle of the night. The faucet in the bathroom sink was painted instead of replaced, but they didn't bother to paint the bottom of the faucet, so it was still a nasty black. The grout in the bathroom was filthy where it met the tub, and the wall paint was slopped onto the walls, all the way up onto the ceiling, and onto the towel rack. Attention to quality here was low. Apparently, you are only paying for the fact that you are close to the beach, not for cleanliness. YUCK. I will say, though, that the bed was clean, and was okay to sleep on. The last issue was the breakfast. Pretty skimpy. Do yourselves a favor and stay a few miles away from Carolina Beach. You have to pay for parking anyways, so drive a few extra miles and stay somewhere that quality is valued, where the carpets are replaced when they are dirty, the paint job is quality, faucets are not painted, and breakfast is decent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Staff was super; carpet was dirty even for a beach hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Rooms are old. AC unit makes everything feel damp. Had to ask for towels and toilet paper.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Pool open until 11 pm each night.
Hotel was okay, lobby is not as spacious as in the picture due to the addition of a game room. Staff was friendly and courteous. Pool was decent sized. Breakfast was adequate. Rooms were well air conditioned!
3 out of 5
by sarah from Sussex County, NJ

Great location but...

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
The location of the hotel was in a great spot. Not far from Kure beach,Fort Fisher, the Aquarium and Jungle Rapids waterpark, mini golf across the street. Food locations were plentiful. There were a few really good restaurants nearby, a few you could walk to. Michael's was awesome and Havana's was 2nd best. Both were a short drive. Across from Havana's was the carnival and the famous Britts donuts. Find Wake n Bake in Carolina Beach - custom donuts, a must go-to! The hotel staff were nice and friendly-the hotel was not to our liking at all. Our room had a BAD musty odor and felt damp...all the time, even with the AC full blast and the bathroom vent running. I cleaned the AC filter thinking that would help but it did not. The rooms were minimally cleaned, the beds were sloppily put together everyday and the bathroom wasn't cleaned. They did leave plenty of (rough!) towels. The pool needed more chlorine and a cleaning(a bit scummy on the inside tiles). Breakfast was minimal - cereal, bagels, small muffins, OJ and apple juice, coffee/tea offered 24/7, and two make your own waffle stations. We weren't in our room very much so we didn't make a huge deal of swapping for another- especially since at check-in people came in w/out reservations and couldn't get a room because they were all booked.