Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greensboro NC

Historic guest house B & B

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Decor, and the landlady Sophie (and Chase the dog)
Cons: Nothing, perfect
Location: 5 min drive to historic downtown(free parking after 7pm) and 30 mins to beach. Perfect location
It's like stepping back in time to the 1920's. Beautiful decor. Sophie, landlady, treats you like family. Warm and welcoming. We'll be going back for sure. We had a great time. Wonderful breakfast every morning and snacks all day.
5 out of 5
by Kent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Charming, Beautiful and Authentically Southern

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Location: The location is perfectly situated near historic Wilmington. There are many places to dine, and the River Walk is lovely and river cruises are great!
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our all-too-brief stay at Port City Guest House. Our hostess, Sophie, was amazing! Her breakfasts were delicious and definitely complete (bring your appetite), and she was a wealth of information about the area. I especially loved chatting with her over afternoon snacks and wished we were there longer to just get to know her better. We can't wait to return and do just that! She is the picture of true Southern Charm and Hospitality! The rooms and the home are beautiful (as is the area). We felt very much as though were living in the home as it may have been 100 years ago. Someday we plan to retire in NC, and we will definitely look to Sophie and the Port City Guest House for our accommodations while house-hunting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central Virginia

like visiting with family, GREAT time good food

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The ambiance, location, family atmosphere, owner VERY accommodating
Cons: nothing that i can think of
Location: in Historic District, visit the RiverWalk!
Sofie the B&B owner was WONDERFUL!!!! I went down to put something in the freezer and stayed for 3 hours, chatting with the owner and other guests gathered around the dining room table. Very warm and friendly!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WILL STAY AGAIN!

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
The bed & breakfast was fantastic. The host was friendly, welcoming & fun. Great food. Great company over breakfast that made us sit for hours. Beautiful old home and great location. WILL STAY AGAIN!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay at Port City!

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great home, great hospitality!!
5 out of 5
by mindy

loved it & will be back

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
amazing! sophie is beyond wonderful at being a hostess. breakfast is to die for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great getaway in the city

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Sophie was incredible and made our stay so much fun. This was our first time at a B&B and after our stay here we would absolutely do it again. Sophie's food was amazing and she shared some great stories with us. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Norman from Lichfield UK

Something special.

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great time and Sophie is something else. Her breakfast is something to behold with all tastes catered for. Rooms are very original, pick your own breakfast time. An experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great first time B&B experience

Posted May 16, 2016
This is a beautiful home near downtown. The hostess, Sophie, is incredibly attentive and accommodating. She goes above and beyond. The food was great and the home is beautiful. I really don't have anything bad to say about our stay !