Ratings based on 613 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Had a very nice stay at this Red Roof Inn. It seems that the property was renovated, very nice interior design. Beds were firm, comfortable and very inviting. The only con that I usually have with all hotels really is the cleanliness of the bathtubs. It was unacceptable but could of been cleaner. Also the room didn't have a fridge. Overall a very please to stay and I would definitely reccomend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newark, de

Nice size but staff and bathroom ruined it.

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Usually there are no issues with Red Roof but this time was different! Nice size but checking in and checking out, the staff was so rude! Also, our bathroom was not cleaned good at all! Had hair on the walls of the bathroom when we first checked in! Then, we took a shower and our entire tub was clogged and dirt was coming up. We couldn't take a nice shower to the point we had to stand up on the sides of the shower to wash off.... Then, we told the front desk and all she said was to "tell Expedia", so we most certainly did..
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Slightly better than you might expect....

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: This hotel was very convenient with a Chilis, Applebee's, Dunkin Donuts, and other places within reach.
Cons: There are a lot of discarded cigarette butts lingering about. The bathrooms are tight,the sink is in general room area & the a/c unit is a little loud
Location: We had good margaritas at Chilis, good dinner in Newark, Sunday brunch in Chesapeake City and sailed to our hearts delight.
My husband and I stayed here to escape the Popemania that was occurring in Philadelphia. It was a last minute choice due to our poor planning. However, they accept pets, which was ideal as we had a small dog in tow. The room, bed, etc. were better that what one might expect. It was safe, clean, and comfortable with no frills and ample grounds for walking the dog. Also, for us, it was within short driving distance to our marina. So, we were able to get to our sailboat relatively easy, as well as Newark and Chesapeake City. The sink is in the open space, which means there isn't much privacy for washing your face, brushing teeth, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ


Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: The sheets and towels were clean.
Location: It was very confusing to locate a very out of the way road to get to the hotel. Without the GPS, we could never have found the motel.
The room was tiny. There was a used band-aid and some other garbage on the bathroom floor. We made the best of the situation for the one night we stayed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Try other alternatives if you can

Posted Sep 7, 2015
The Good - Clean rooms. Nice and comfy beds. Clean bathrooms. Microwave, mini fridge, iron in room. Flatscreen TV in room. The Bad - Existing soda bottle in fridge from last guest upon checking in. Smokers stinking the hallway and all the common places/corridors looking shady. Check out staff smoking right on your face right out at lobby while taking the key back. No breakfast included. Hair dryer not working. The Ugly - Overall not good quality patrons. Loud bass and music playing cars/motor cycles in middle of the night. Made me wake up couple of times in night to check the well being of my car parked down below - was that shady of a neighborhood.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok place for the money

Posted Aug 25, 2015
The hot water was not working properly during the time of visit. The bed wasnt comfortbale at all. The front desk staff was excellent but the room was not.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chile

Affordably priced hotel in the right location

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Affordable and location
Nice enough hotel room, big bed, small desk, nice desk chair, decent wifi, good enough selection of food etc. nearby. The bathroom was tiny, and I would have liked a tad bit more room space. But of course those things all cost more. So overall happy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Formerly Alexandria, VA

Lacking. Amenities

Posted Aug 12, 2015
No fridge microwave or coffee maker. Very difficult to find.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Stay

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Location, next to a restaurant and plenty of shopping and restaurants in the area.
Cons: Put small refrigerator and microwave in room.
Location: Delaware Park down the Street. Christiana Mall about 1/2 mile away if that. Excellent shopping and restaurants in the area.
I had a very pleasant stay at the Red Roof Plus. The price was just right, clean rooms and television. The only thing missed were the small refrigerator and microwave in the room. Otherwise no complaints at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Not what I would call "Superior"

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Individual entrances to each room made it easier to get my dog in & out to do his business
Cons: cleanliness, functionality of appliances, the use of air freshener
Location: right next door to a chili's, off of a main highway
I booked the Superior King room -- basically the same as Standard King, but somewhat larger to accommodate a desk/work area, as well as mini fridge & microwave. The room did contain the specific items depicted on the website, however it was gross -- all of the "updated" items were in extremely poor condition. The room reeked of stale cigarette smoke, even though it was supposed to be a "100% smoke free" room. The sink was rusty/leaky, the bathtub floor was black & grimy. All of the light switches were dirty. The refrigerator was "functional", however it was on the highest setting & it was barely cool inside. There were spiderwebs (& a resident spider) underneath the bathroom counter. I almost called down to have my room switched, but then thought since I was only staying one night, why bother. It just wasn't what I was expecting -- for the amount I paid, I thought I would be getting a really nice room to relax in during my road trip, but there was nothing memorable about my stay. It was more tolerable than anything. Maybe it's because I was travelling with my dog, so they just throw those guests in the back of the building, in rooms that aren't as clean therefore less of a risk with a dog staying there. I just thought it would be a nicer room. Had I known, I would've just paid the cheaper price for one of the doubles, instead of what I paid for "upgrading" to a "superior" room.