Ratings based on 711 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Lack of Information

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: The condo was very nice.
Cons: Communication re: Hilton connection to make an informed decision re: booking this site.
Not on any paperwork I received was I told that checkin was at the Hilton down the street. Even when I called for the airport schuttle I was not told to look for any particular vehicle for my pickup- I did ask, but was cut-off. Despite being told that the driver would be there in approx 8 minutes, I waited 20 minutes and called again, only to be told at that point, to look for a Hilton vehicle- which had been parked for a while, right in front of me...frustrating. Not having anyone available on site was inconvenient when I was unable to connect to wifi- only available help was down the street at the Hilton. No parking available onsite for my daughter who is local, but staying with me- had to park down the street at the Hilton and entrance to the condo was at the back of the building...where we could not park. Will not return here, despite frequent trips to visit with my daughter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Marge, thank you for your feedback. The hotel across the street is our sister property, so we're sorry if you were initially confused. We are happy you were pleased with your accommodations, but we're sorry to read our team failed to communicate you about this fact. Your feedback will be shared with our staff to ensure going forward they communicate this well. We hope we have made the remainder of your stay with us enjoyable. Please visit us again in the future. Daniel Perkins, Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Illinois

Nice condo close to downtown

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: We love the location, you stay in condos, and the view of the Cape Fear River.
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: There's too many to list. I recommend walking downtown Wilmington, NC to explore on your own. There's so many restaurants and other activities to enjo
We've been staying at the Riverview Suites for the past 7years. The location is ideal; the condo rates are reasonable offseason. Each condo is separately owned; it's always an adventure on what type of decor you'll receive. For the past 2 trips, my only complaint is housekeeping. We don't request for daily service since we prefer to enjoy our time in the condo. We will ensure that the beds are made, etc. We even purchased a broom/dustpan during our last trip to tidy up the condo. However, when we do request for housekeeping, we've had nothing but poor service. Cleaning exists of making the bed and replenishing the towels. Even the amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc. are replenished sparingly. For the cost, I would expect to receive a full set of amenities daily. In the end, the customer does pay the bill. Additionally, when we do request for towels and no service, the towels are dropped outside the door. It wouldn’t hurt to have housekeeping at least drop inside the condo, which they do have access. This would give them the opportunity to remove the older towels that we accumulated during our one-week stays. I joked with my husband that maybe the hotel will call us to see if housekeeping can stop by to pick-up towels – no, this didn’t happen. As of late, each time we've checked into the condo, it's nothing but dusty. At first, we had an issue with the Wi-Fi, which has improved immensely; however, the lack of cleaning is disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Jackson, we appreciate your consistent support of Riverview Suites Wilmington. It's always a pleasure to see a familiar face and we love having you as a regular guest! Thanks also for letting us know you loved our Cape Fear Riverwalk location and had a great time with us. That being said, we are sorry that we failed to provide you with the level of service and cleanliness you should have received. Your comments have been shared with the entire team in an effort to ensure a better experience going forward. We look forward to serving you much better in the future. Daniel Perkins, Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hilton head island, SC

Confused- room on river

Posted Jan 2, 2018
The Riverciew Suites stay was not too pleasant. My son and I could not park near the bldg, then finally got to it and it was locked. There were no signs for Riverview Suites. It was an apartment bldg. once I called the number I learned you had the check in at the Hilton. The young lady there was not very helpful and attempted to tell me how to get in the bldg from her desk. I paid for extra parking at the Hilton since Riverview offered no parking. Then the Hilton parking was full and I received a ticket for parking in the wrong spot. I would not recommend a stay there. I could have stayed at the Hilton because the price was close, but wanted to try something new. It was very confusing, and frustrating
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Assistant General Manager , Hotel Management
Micjelle, we appreciate you choosing our hotel. Please accept our apology for your unpleasant experience as that is not the service level that we aim to provide. We have discussed your comments with our team, and we will be making changes to better serve our guests. Thank you for sharing your concerns. We hope you will give us another chance to prove ourselves to you on a future visit. Daniel Perkins, Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view and location. But outdated

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Great view and location. You need to park in the hotel parking lot and walk to the condo but that is the price you normally pay for location in a city. The wirels are hanging down from the TV and look cheap. The chair is dirty and very old. The toilet holder is broken and the place needs a good updated color of paint. The bed has no headboard and feels like a dorm room. Furniture is pressed board and all scratched up. The mattress itself was comfortable but the pillows are too tiny. Not even a standard size. Need better quality of blankets too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. We're sorry we fell short of your expectations with regard to the room. We have alerted our engineering staff to your concerns, and we will be more proactive repairing and replacing items that are beginning to show wear. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us continually improve our guest experience. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future. Daniel Perkins Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Great riverview

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Excellent fold out couch and bed. Very accessible and great little bagel shop in the building too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Mark, thank you for providing your feedback on your stay at Riverview Suites Wilmington. We're delighted to read that you had a good night's rest and that you had a pleasant time. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Daniel Perkins, Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Cons: There were a few maintenance issues that should have been taken care of prior to our visit.
This hotel is within walking distance of everything downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at Riverview Suites Wilmington. We're glad that our location was perfect for your needs. However, we're sorry if you encountered any maintenance issue during your visit. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and look forward to seeing you back on your future trip to Wilmington. Daniel Perkins, Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Cons: The bed in 901 needs to be replaced.
The bed in room 901 was terrible. Otherwise it was a nice suite with a wonderful view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Riverview Suites Wilmington for your accommodation. We are so happy you had a good stay and that you loved the beautiful sunrise and view of the Cape Fear River from your balcony. However, I am sorry for the inconvenience you had with the bed. I have shared your feedback with my housekeeping team so that they can have a quick review of your room. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Daniel Perkins, Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from coastal South Carolina

Convenient, but can probably find better.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: The view and location.
Cons: Do some renovation and come up with a parking plan. It's going to be several years before a new deck is in place.
Location: Downtown Wilmington is a great place to eat, drink and cruise on the river, shop and enjoy the historic homes and buildings in the area.
Two issues here: the condition of the room and the location. First the room. This room is very basic and needs some attention. This is a situation where owners are renting out their property so there maybe more than one room involved but the one I was in wasn't up to standards as far as condition of the room. Dirt along corners of baseboards, bare basics as far as furniture. The view and location are great but renovate! Now the location. Wilmington is what it is and mostly great but there is a parking issue now. This property sits next to what used to be a large parking deck but it is currently being demolished. Be aware there is no longer any free parking for this room. The lot beside the building charges $1 an hour and is small. Street parking is metered during the day. And the Hilton will let you park in their lot for $11 a day. That said, lots of people opt for the Hilton parking so the lot closest to this room was full. So it could be a three block walk to the car, in the other lot, which looked like it could potentially fill up too. Love the view but should have just chosen the Hilton and gotten the points.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, , Hotel Management
Elizabeth, thank you for your review. We are pleased you overall had a comfortable stay, but your comments indicate we have room for improvement. We have taken a note of your concerns as we plan any future upgrades. Also, I apologize for the inconvenience of parking across the street in our sister hotel's lot, but parking in a downtown area such as this is very limited. We hope to have another chance so we can make your next trip exceptional in every respect. Daniel Perkins, Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansboro, NC

Great Riverview Hotel with a Homey Feel

Posted Nov 5, 2017
The only downside I have about this hotel is the lobby is across the street about a blocks walk away at the Hilton and they share parking. The room was great, we felt at home with a beachy vibe. The river view is great too, and front row to the USCG cutter and USN battleship. I would give it 5 stars other than the inconvienice of the lobby and parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Cory, it was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Riverview Suites Wilmington. We are delighted to know you were impressed with most aspects of our hotel, especially with your well-appointed room. We hope to see you again whenever you are back here. Daniel Perkins, Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Full kitchen! Lovely balcony overlooking the river!
Cons: Room is a little scruffy. Outlets are not located near the bed. Some lights have funky switches.
Location: Fantastic location!
Riverview Suites is an extension of the nearby Hilton. It is residential with some rooms available for hotel visitors. Unfortunately, this is not made clear on the confirmation, so it takes awhile to figure out how to get into this place or where to check in. I had to ask a random person in the parking lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are disappointed, however, that your stay was less than perfect. We appreciate you bringing your observation to our attention. We hope you will revisit Riverview Suites Wilmington again in the future Daniel Perkins, Assistant General Manager