Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C. mahwah NJ

Great place to stay, would come back

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Gorgeous views, spacious rooms, nice pool and tiki bar set up. No real complaints at all. Would definitely come back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Nice location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The location and staff.
Cons: Individual owners could update their units and be sure they're clean.
Location: The location is great! There is a variety of restaurants and shops very close and downtown is only a short drive.
The location for Shell Island Resort is excellent and the staff is great. However, the units are indidually owned and the one we stayed in was very outdated and the carpet was worn and filthy. There was mildew around the faucet in the bathtub and the rim of the toilets. We had to pull out the nightstand to reach an electrical outlet and it was very dirty behind the nightstand. With that being said if I had stayed in a cleaner more updated unit it could have been a very pleasant stay because the rest of the resort was nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel and Beach

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Every room ocean front.
Location: Not a lot to do in the area, everything is in driving distance
Nice hotel, needs updated and more attention to detail in regards to cleaning. The staff where good, they are young not professional. Breakfast Buffet was just ok, waitress was very good. The beach is very nice and clean. If you choose Shell Island and have children, the beach is all there is. Not a lot of activities close by. Take your own chairs and umbrella if possible the cost of renting wil really add up.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greensboro NC

Best kept secret of NC !

Posted Sep 16, 2016
I have been coming to Shell Island for the past few years once in the Spring and once in September and will always be back !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Rooms IN NEED of serious update.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The appearance of this hotel is good. The proximity to the beach and the nice pool and the outdoor surroundings are great. The hotel is in a beautiful gorgeous part of Wrightsville Beach's serene and very close to nature . The restaurant and bar are cute and serve decent food. those are the only good things. However the rooms for the price it's being charged need a serious update! So overpriced. I noticed peeling paint on the bathroom door ( my father was a carpenter- I pay attentionto this and I travel for Business quite a bit ). I also stains in the carpet stains on the couch and the bathroom looked like it hadn't been updated since it was built . The walls had scratches and dirt marks. This is a beachfront hotel with carpet in the actual rooms which is odd. All the rooms should basically either be carpet free (due to high moisture) or have new Carpet installed frequently - but that's not stained. I found the room to be a little on the gross side. At over $200 a night, I would take your money and spend it elsewhere. This hotel is an absolutely beautiful area, the beach is quiet it's serene it's gorgeous but the hotel is in desperate need of an update in the rooms. It is worth noting that each room, is individually owned, however there should be a minimum standards put in place if a room is to be rented (I.e- no stains on carpet, or couch, updated bathroom /kitchen, no peeling paint on doors). The entrances into the room are also carpeted-look very dingy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

On the beach

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Very nice staff. Ended up staying an extra day. The room needed tlc tho. Walls all dinged up made it look shabby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornelius, NC

Fun filled experience in a quaint community

Posted Sep 1, 2016
A runners dream! A really quaint community. Great eating establishments close by and the staff was really helpful in getting information about them
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from durham, nc

Peaceful ambiance

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Right im front but quite a walk to the beach. All rooms have a panoramic view of the ocean. To do this, rooms a little narrow but deep. Some bed frames may need better inspection/maintenance. Temporary board walk needed for easier access to the beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oceanfront in comfort

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Great hotel on end of island near sound made for great beach area!! The staff was amazing! I was very impressed with all the staff from front desk to cleaning crew to beach staff. Very well trained!! All rooms face the ocean!! Loved this place. Would stay there again!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Typical beach type condo/rental unit. Suitable but tough environment with sand and overuse. Furniture and bed not very comfortable, kitchen/den area small and cramped. Overall, not bad with great beach and area, would consider returning.