Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by JET from NY

Don't book here!

Posted Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Leaving!
Cons: Everything
Location: Near Lake Placid NY
Lobby and lobby bathroom dirty with peeling wallpaper. Up 3 creaky, rickety flights of stairs to a room that was so small, the bed took up the whole room. Sink was in the bedroom too - so called "bathroom" was a closet with sloping ceiling where you'd have to duck to sit on toilet. Shower had no shower head and was filled with construction material - unusable! Mattress looked like it was 80 years old, saggy and lumpy. I wouldn't let my dog sleep there. We ended up leaving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional

Posted Jan 6, 2012
A friend and I stayed at Steinhoff for a night. The reason for our stay is to visit Whiteface ski resort. Our experience during our one night was pleasing. We arrived at Steinhoff approximately 1am and Jay who work there was a very cool guy. He made an exception and allowed us to have a drink even though the bar was closed. He was very nice and offered us shrimp and bourbon steak Hors d'oeuvre on the house. The place was comfortable, however when using the shower, to receive hot water it turns clockwise even when it labeled counter clock wise. I can’t say the same for the rest of the room since we only stayed in room 5. Also the room was a bit chilly so you might need to bring a portable heater. This is one thing I would put on my list the next time we visit. I would say this is an exceptional place to stay overnight for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Tampa Bay

would go back for sure

Posted Nov 28, 2011
Enjoyed staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

A decent Bargain for the average hiker, sportsman, Biker

Posted Oct 8, 2011
A convienient location and friendly staff are this Inn's high points. Rooms are adequate in size but color(dark) choices and decore(Brown bath towels?) are dated. In our case a Bunk/single double bed, the Double matress was in desperate need of replacing. The Bunks were very comfortable. Rooms 15 and 16 (bunk/double) had a nice shared balcony. Parking lot noise from patrons leaving the attached Sportsbar(Hoff's Irish pub) might bother the light sleeper. A request to be on the far side away from lot would prevent that from being a problem. I would return to Steinhoff's and its Rustic charm but also hope that the current management would give the building the attention it needs to be at its best. They do seem to be making great progress so far with the most recent improvements and it does seeem like a work in progress thats positive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New york, NY

Not worth

Posted Sep 6, 2011
The only positive thing is the location. It's very close to Whiteface mountain and High falls gorge. The room wasn't ready until 5.30 PM even though the check-in time was 3 pm. There is no wifi even though it's mentioned in hotel amenities. Breakfast had breads that were beyond expiration date and there was no one in the breakfast room to serve.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Don't make the same mistake...

Posted Aug 24, 2011
where to start... We stayed there on August 19th, 2011. We booked a room with a king bed, fireplace and balcony. We got a room with queen, and a bunk bed and a tiny balcony that is shared with the neighboring room once out come out. Service was non existent, there was no one at the desk and we had to go over to the bar and found out that the bar tender was also working the front desk of the Inn. She was friendly though. During check out, there was no one to be found. We had to leave the keys on at the desk with no one around. Restaurant was supposed to be open at 8am, and there was supposed to be a continental breakfast which there was, but was in a dark dirty corner with cleaning supplies next to it. Hallways haven't been vacuumed in ages. Bathroom was a joke with lighting at the entrance and a sink around the corner from the shower (which would be fine if light traveled around corners...) No water pressure. The room did not have grounded electrical outlets (aside from where the AC was plugged in, others had adapters only (which I'm pretty sure are not legal anymore) I'm not too picky, but after this place I felt obligated to warn people. I'm also disappointed with Expedia, this is the first time I've had a bad experience booking with Expedia, maybe they should re-consider offering this place. There were several very nice motels in the are for much less that looked MUCH nicer, unfortunately they were not listed on any sites, just local phone book. good luck
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

You get what is advertised at reasonable price

Posted Jul 29, 2011
Adirondack rustic. Great location for White Face Mountain (except for current road construction). Room was relatively clean. Floors could have been cleaner. Bathroom was small but clean. Friendly but slow service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Simple, comfortable and reasonably priced

Posted Jul 27, 2011
Everything you need is here. If you want the Crowe Plaza, this is not it, but it does have everything you need for a comfortable stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, the meals were excellent and the prices very reasonable for the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Old Bridge, NJ

Very Enjoyable

Posted Jul 27, 2011
Went to watch the Lake Placid Ironman, the hotel is in an excelent location, the staff is extreamly friendly and helpful. Room was just the right size for two adults and comfortable