Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boone, NC

A first for me

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Only real problem I had was there was no maid service. Had to take my dirty towels to office and pick up clean towels everyday. It worked for our stay this time but will not be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The view of the ocean
The ocean view was spectacular. Quiet location. Close to restaurants and shops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Would not let us check in till 3:30pm (3:00 check in), TV broken, but staff fixed it which took another 45 minutes after finally getting into our room. Blinds broken and had to hang a towel to cover so no one could see in at night. Bathroom very, very, very small with a backed up shower. Room clean enough and beds comfy. Was grateful for chain lock on door, but unsure if it with hold any one busting in. The door lock was simple and easy to open.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Accommodating and friendly staff, but nasty hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The staff were helpful and it was right on the beach.
Cons: The building needs a total renovation. The plumbing is shot. The carpets were smelly. Basically this thing needs to be torn down and rebuilt.
Location: Great location. Right on the beach and 5 minute walk to the boardwalk. Basically walking distance to everything in Carolina Beach.
It's right on the beach. And that ends the pro's section of this review. The place was run down, noisy, smelly, dirty... I could go on and on. The room stunk to high heaven, the toilet was broken, the drain in the shower was clogged. The blinds didn't even cover the window properly so light came in from the street. It was supposed to be non smoking, but evidently that didn't extend to the balconies, which it seemed every hotel guest was constantly smoking on. The area was really noisy. Overall it was a horrible hotel. If this place wasn't right on the beach, it would definitely get 1 star out of 5. Being so close to the beach was its only saving grace. But then there are much nicer places that are right on the beach as well. Definitely would NOT recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Old hotel. Outdated but close to the beach.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
I would not stay here again. Hotel photos online were deceiving.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us to improve. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area. Barry Eagle, Owner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Very clean! Perfect for a beach trip!
Cons: Adding curtains to the windows to allow for less light (especially street lights and at daybreak) in the room.
Location: Walking distance to restaurants and the beach
Simple, clean hotel room. No frills. Comfortable beds. Clean linens. Friendly and pleasant staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and comfort of your room, the hospitality of our staff, and our location. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Barry Eagle, Owner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Affordable Hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Great location, everything else is terrible. Don't even the clean everyday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Please know that we take cleanliness very seriously and truly appreciate your feedback regarding the situation so that we can improve our services. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area. Barry Eagle, Owner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Air and smoke

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Air didn't work in first room, second room smelled like smoke
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I will be speaking with our maintenance team to ensure that the A/C is working properly in each room. Also, I will speak with our management team to discuss improvements such as the smell of your room. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area. Barry Eagle, Owner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Found long hairs all over the room...also not enough pots and pans....knives forks or spoons.....did see a few bugs...but room had a great view....very relaxing....still woyld stay again.....its easy to fix the things i did find wrong.....just have to do it....
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry for the condition of your room but appreciate your feedback so that we know where we need to improve. I will be speaking with our housekeeping team as well as our pest control to take care of a few of the issues you experienced. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to seeing you again. Barry Eagle, Owner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont stay here

Posted Mar 14, 2017
I went online i picked oceanfront room they put me in poolveiw room was not happy i checked out my bill was 87.09 they charged my card 100.09 then i went back in and asked thrm they played it was my card holdrr i called my bank they told me it was the hotel.. A waste of my money and then i asked for ocean front as well. Didnt get it i was pussed i never stay in a room at the beachvthat id not ocean front veiw
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. Please know that we do everything we can in order to provide the best experience for our guests. We truly appreciate your feedback as it will help us to improve our services. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area. Barry Eagle, Owner.