Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location - Great Staff

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, Balcony!!
Cons: A little more maintenance, the tub backing up was gnarly and unsanitary.
Location: Location is PERFECT! Everything to do nearby! Excellent.
This place is pretty great. It's not totally modern so for the fancy pants out there looking for the Hilton this place isn't for you. But the beds were comfortable, rooms were clean enough. Had tons of space in the corner suite with full kitchen and nice sized bathroom. House keeping was exceptional, staff was SOOO friendly!!! Rooms were clean, had everything needed - just overall a great experience. Thanks so much Surfside! Tub backed up toward the end and issue was addressed immediately when I went to front desk. Awesome spot on the beach, close to everything. Tiki bar within crawling distance - awesome sunrises. I would stay here again and again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for these amazing photos! We appreciate your comments regarding the comfort of your bed, the amenities of your room, and our location. I apologize for the issues you experienced with your tub but I appreciate you bringing the issue to our front desk so that we could take care of the problem for you. We look forward to having you stay with us again! Barry Eagle, Owner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from marion nc

Hotel review

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Cons: It needs a complete update
the hotel ceiling is coming down. No phone. nothing in the kitchen. poor lighting. bathroom dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. However, we appreciate your feedback as it will help us to improve. We are currently working on updates during the off-season and I will be speaking with our management team to see what more can be done. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Barry Eagle, Owner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from marion nc

Hotel was very misleading.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Cons: All updated.
The hotel was smelly. The exhaust fan did not work. No phone. Dirty. Ceiling falling down. Nothing in kitchen. Dirty floor in bathroom. Steps in bad shape. Needs updated. TV tilted one way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great view of beach!

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Close to beach.
Cons: Door stuck, chipped a bone in my finger trying to shut it, but that was my mistake.
Location: Boardwalk and shops within walking distance.
Went for my daughter's birthday. Had a great crab leg dinner at a bar called the Silver Dollar!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments regarding our location. We are glad that your daughter had a great birthday and we hope to see you again! Barry Eagle, Owner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
Location: Location was the only good thing about this place.
After checking-in we went to our room. Upon opening the door, it hit me...this is a big mistake. The room smelled musty, the sheets had hair all over them, you could see day light around the doors...it was terrible. I went back to office told the manager about the room...we were reassigned...it was not that much better. You could feel the cold air from around the doors...again it was terrible. Unfortunately we had no other options. Locking the door was a joke...anyone could push hard and break in. I would NEVER recommend this hotel/motel to anyone!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry for the condition of your room. I will be speaking with our housekeeping team to ensure that we are keeping up to the level of cleanliness that is expected. Please know that I have taken note of the issues you experienced during your stay and will be addressing them with our management team. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area. Barry Eagle, Owner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carolina beach

Perfect spot on the beach for us

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Nice quiet and convenient to all parts of the island. We will definitely be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love the photos and look forward to seeing you again! Barry Eagle, Owner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Ugh

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Nice view from top floor but balcony floors are flimsy and sketcy. Bar across street was blaring music til midnight. Would not recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I will be speaking with our management team to discuss improvements. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area. Barry Eagle, Owner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Beach front was great . Wish our 3 rooms could have been together. Wifi wasn't worth mentioning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall. I will be speaking with our internet provider to ensure that our connection is working properly. We hope you will stay with us again. Barry Eagle, Owner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs update

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs a lot of mantenance.
Location: Good location
An ok place for old building. Needs better cleaning. Good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please know that we are currently in the process of renovating some of our rooms. I am glad that you enjoyed our location. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area. Barry Eagle, Owner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Within walking distance to almost everything, would definitely stay again, and suggest to friends
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Barry Eagle, Owner., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and 5-star rating! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Barry Eagle, Owner.