Ratings based on 1,052 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

"Our Hotel" When we go to Wilmington!

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms. Good breakfast. Exceptional staff.
Cons: No complaints at all.
Location: Located on Market St. close to multiple stores and restaurants. Not very far from UNCW.
Excellent from the moment we walked in the front door. The desk staff is exceptional. Thank you for a nice stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte , NC

One of the best hotels in Wilmington!

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Me and my wife are always heading out to Wilmington to visit family and we stay at a different hotel each time . For this trip we decided to book the Wyndham Hotel and we definitely did not regret it .. this hotel was very clean , the staff was friendly and always greeting us as we walked in and out of the hotel and the bed was very comfortable . We will definitely be staying here again when we come for our next visit. Surprisingly it was one of the lowest priced hotels in the Wilmington area
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Todd, Hotel Management
Awesome! Thank you for sharing that Wingate by Wyndham is one of the best hotels in Wilmington. We love to hear when a guest describes our hotel as clean and comfortable with a friendly staff. We are so excited that you chose Wingate by Wyndham. Thank you and we look forward to providing you and your family service on your next visit to the Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to UNCW

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean room and nice selection of breakfast Items.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Todd, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate you and value your business. We love accolades such as friendly and helpful staff, very clean rooms and nice selection on our complimentary breakfast buffet. Thank you for mentioning our close proximity to UNCW. We look forward to providing you service during your next visit to Wilmington, NC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to UNCW.

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Enjoyed our short stay. Clean hotel. Close to UNCW, which was the point of our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Todd, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Wingate by Wyndham while visiting Wilmington, NC. We love to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Thank you for mentioning that we are conveniently located close to UNCW. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you on your next visit to Wilmington.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Great experience, room was clean, comfortable and neat. Shower was hot with good pressure! Breakfast was good too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Patti, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Great hotel on market st

Posted Nov 20, 2017
We stayed here one night for an event downtown and it was great! Cleanliness is the most important thing to me, and it was not bad at all. The bathroom was very clean and there was no odor in the room. The pull out bed was a little uncomfertable, but worked great for the 3year old. Overall a very good stay! (And there is a chick-fil-a right across the street with a play area!!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Patti, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cockroach

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Overall initially I was pretty happy with this hotel. I was greeted very nicely and the room was in good condition. When myself and my girlfriend woke up the next morning there was a cockroach on the wall. It went behind the mirror and I went and told the front desk. The lady at the front desk her response was completely uncalled for. She told me "we don't have cockroaches here, but we are in the south so sometimes they could get in but thank you for telling me...." that was the response I was given when I told her we were packing up and leaving early due to my girlfriend having a heart attack because of it. So because of the customer service I received I won't ever stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Comfortable clean hotel.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Friendly accommodating staff. Location is close to restaurants, stores and downtown Wilmington, NC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Patti, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Didn't get any sleep

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Proximity to college and restaurants.
Cons: Breakfast was terrible. Even the coffee was horrible.
The first night we were woken twice by a drunk man banging on doors. Come to find out he ended up sleeping outside our door. He awoke and started pounding on our door and hotel staff came to get him out of there. Why didn't they remove him with the first disruption? Why did they allow him to sleep outside our door? There was no apology given to us or no refund either. The second night the air conditioner/heater was rattling so bad I could not sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I want to apologize for your experience during your stay. Please know this is not an acceptable practice or common occurrence at our property. We appreciate your feedback and will be using your feedback as a tool with our employees on how to handle these difficult situations. I hope you will give us opportunity to show you our typical customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wilmington NC

Nice hotel, close to everything. Great prices.

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Thank you! We will be back to this hotel. We weren’t there too long but it was very nice and close to everything. Staff was nice and hotel was clean!! I love that it wasn’t too expensive because we weren’t at the hotel for too long.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Patti, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!