Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice looking hotel - tired inside

Posted Dec 31, 2016
I stayed here between Xmas and New Year. I think the hotel is due to be refurbished and it needs it. The bathroom was in most need of updating, the bath and the sink badly cracked and chipped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Very pleasing, close to airport

Posted Dec 12, 2016
We needed a place to stay before an early departure out of Manchester airport. This was a nice location, about ten minutes drive from the airport (or more precisely from the rental car place we had used). Yet it was secluded and quiet. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. I have the impression that the hotel does events (weddings etc.) and I think it would probably be nice for that too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Europe

Uncomfortably hot and extremely noisy!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The location was great for us. Nice toiletries and towels.
Cons: Ask the delivery drivers to have some consideration for paying guests afterall its a hotel not a kindergarten. I know driving a van must be boring but
Location: Walk to Styal park and mill. Walking distance to Handforth station for Manchester Xmas markets, and the high street for Indian and Greek cuisine.
Stayed 3 nights as we know the area and the location was perfect for us and my husband used to live in Wilmslow so knew of the hotel. Looks lovely from outside but went downhill from thereon. Receptionist was very 'frosty' and I couldn't understand her accent. My husband turned up with the cases after parking the car and with his hands full couldn't get in as the doors open outwards so I had to help him while 2 members of staff stood and watched. We were given the notorious room 101...which is next to the toilets along the grubby worn carpet. The room is furnished nicely, a nice size, tv, tea and coffee and appeared to be clean. Trying to sleep was a nightmare, toilets flushing, hand driers going and the room was incredibly hot even tho the radiator was off and we had all the windows open. We were woken up at 6.35 by the Carlsberg van unloading the kegs outside our window as the room overlooks the kitchens and delivery area. Things didn't improve as the butcher, baker, laundry van etc. turned up at dawn each morning. The Delifresh van turned up at 7.30 and we had to listen to the drivers shouting across the car park to each other and chasing after each other with hot mugs of tea behaving like kids! After a few days we noticed cobwebs, dust and broken lampshades. We did expect more from a 4 star hotel and out of the 5 hotels we stayed at whilst visiting the UK this was the most expensive and the most disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend away

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Standard, location and comfort.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Quiet countryside location but easy access to Manchester.
We had a wonderful & relaxing time at this lovely hotel. Clean,friendly and comfortable. Attentive staff, good food and service. Should we be in the area again we would definitely choose Stanneylands for our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Great hotel in great location

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: n/a
Location: Close to Manchester airport
Really pleasant stay for one night close to the airport, friendly receptionist :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, but no AC!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Staff - friendly, amenable. Beds - comfy. Decor - quaint, tasteful. Affordable - good value for money.
Cons: Only problem was the lack of AC in the rooms! Had to request a fan from the front desk each night (which they did manage to provide).
Location: Near the train, and Quarry Bank Mill. 5 to 10 minute drive from the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Efficient staff, nice rooms
Cons: Mysterious noise
Location: Close to airport, nice surroundings
Great hotel, mysterious noise from my room, but quickly rectified with an upgrade to the bridal suite!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

I came, i stayed, i am returning

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: the staff, everything else is good, but the staff are engaging, helpful and good- can't ask for more
Cons: teeenie weenie whinge but the beer choice is rubbish (lagers good for those whom prefer that). However its a small hotel and its a minor gripe
Location: location is quiet, semi rural, but it is very close to lots of amenities, the airport and motorways (though you would know when there)
I came, i stayed, i am returning next week and will be a regular going forwards - that pretty much sums up my recommendation. Its in a quiet location, the staff are absolutely spot on, foods good and it's comfortable. Admittedly the hotel could do with a little refurb (and i believe they are doing that in a few months) but it is not massively evident or an issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Warrington

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing bad to say.
Beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings. Would recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Close to AIRPORT,quiet, clean. Only stayed overnight for an early morning flight.
Cons: Wasn't there long enough to really find anything wrong. Prices in the bar and restaurant were a little high for our budget.