Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not that good

Posted May 30, 2017
Ran out of white bread for sandwiches - really? How does a hotel run out of any food product? Hotel is extremely noisy - doors banging and slamming people upstairs walking down corridors, just all loader than it should be. Shower was broken and had black mould in grout and silicon. Toilet was barely able to flush. Bar was full of some cricket club apparently holding some meeting of some sorts - if you didn't want to be part of that? Leave the bar. Internet was good and staff were pleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath

Disorganised with staff that don't seem to care

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: This used to be a good hotel and we have been coming for 4 years, last year we saw a deterioration and after this year will never return
Cons: Everything
Location: Fantastic pub nearby called the Patriot Arms that we eventually had dinner at, we were very well treated at extremely short notice.
I had booked 8 rooms for a family re-union (confirmed by my itinerary on expedia) and on arrival the hotel only had one reserved. The guy on reception did manage to find us rooms and was very helpful, we found out afterwards that he was not permanent staff there. The bar was almost out of alcohol and had extremely slow service. We had to prompt the waters in the restaurant to give us menus, then they gave us 4 between 14 of us! After 45 minutes we then prompted the waiters that they needed to take an order, and after an hour still without a waiter to take an order we left for another location to have dinner there. In the morning room service knocked all our rooms at 08:30, though checkout was not until 11:00 The pool was opened late in the morning, and only when the receptionist got the keys himself to open it up as the staff member responsible had not turned up
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Needs good management

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: needs good strong leadership. Staff numbers need to be in line with the quality and size of hotel.
The reason we booked this hotel was its location and swimming facilities.there was no notification about poolnot being available despite booking a month before.One debacle after another faulty towers comes to mind. Room pleasant.Restaurant first night food good staff friendly. Fire alarm set off no explanation or information in morning. Day 2 breakfast good selection. coffee and tea facilities not easy to manage pump action almost impossible result cold tea and coffee. Return to room to find no room service at all. Bed unmade tea and coffee cups dirty no drinks etc. Reception staff tried to rectify with replenished tea and coffee themselves. No cold drinks. Full of apologies. No staff or manager.Evening meal not good staff when aroundveryconfused and rushed. Day 3 breakfast better still tea And coffee Cold. Wedding party arrived at 12 from then on unable to get bar service. Ourselves and another party unable to get a drink or bevarage for well over an hour. No staff told will get someone for you several times. Still no manager told he was not here. Went out to eat. Early to bed then fire alarm set off twice. Still no information as well as being woken up both times followed fire drill all three times.Shower near impossible to use.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Not as nice as the last time I stayed :-(

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location, room facilities and cleanliness.
Cons: Lots!
I was a bit disappointing when I stayed here this year. this is the third year that I have been to this hotel. I stay one night as part of a conference and then book an extra night independently. When I booked the room there was no mention of the swimming pool being out of use for the entire weekend, have I had known I could easily have stayed somewhere else for less. I also woke up early on the Saturday morning to use the gym facilities but was told that the gym did not open until later contrary to the hotel information which was supplied in the rooms. When I mentioned this, there was no apology just an 'oh, these haven't been updated with the new times'. I also felt that they did not have enough waiting and bar staff available as there was a lot of waiting especially at lunchtime for some water! The food was not as good either. I have to say this was not the greatest stay at this hotel and I will only be returning for the conference and will look into booking the additional night somewhere else. Lots of improvement needed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Just wanted to say thank you

Posted May 17, 2017
I was very impressed with one in particular member of staff, of this hotel, Christine, ( supervisor) who helped me to find my watch which I misplaced by mistake and I could not find it. She was very helpful, kind, professional and of positive nature when dealing with this incident. Thank you very much, Christine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

NOT quite 5 star..

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Superb location
Cons: Televisions and radios in rooms Breakfast arrangements.
Location: Rather isolated but lovely setting.
We stayed at the hotel one night only. Superb location. All staff we met were welcoming, friendly and efficient. Room was pleasant. Unfortunately could not be rated as a room one could expect in a 5 star hotel. Old low cost television with very small screen. Bedside radio cheap and virtually useless for any serious listening. Buffet breakfast was chaotic. No one seemed to be in charge.
5 out of 5
by Jo

Great stay overnight

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Staff excellent. ....organised breakfast early as wrong info on hotel website. Reception check in good and bar staff good. Only issue another guest knocking loudly on door in corridor at 3 am. Great stay thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The facilities and service were excellent and as described, we would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Notify people of facilities out of service, they seemed to be short staffed too
Location: Nice location for a walk
Nice hotel, good facilities. The spa was out of service and we were given no notice of that. Also the wardrobe light in room 130 where We stayed would not turn off. we were offered no form of recompense or discount for these two shortcomings.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels