Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Staying in a historic place.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Very good location for all the sites in Salisbury. We stayed in the old part of the hotel which was lovely. There was a good breakfast included in our rate. Limited parking at the hotel which had to be booked and paid for but the hotel sold 24 hour parking tickets for nearby car park so not a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great old hotel in a central location

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Central location, quirky history.
Location: Catherdral is well worth a visit.
Fantastic historic hotel, easy walk to cathedral and local shops and sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerville, MA

Stunning medieval inn at the core of Salisbury

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The exterior appearance of the hotel is unparalleled.
Cons: As noted above, parking is an issue.
Location: The Salisbury Cathedral is a short walk away. Old Sarum and Stonehenge are short drives.
The beautiful inner courtyard of this old inn is fantastic. The lift to our room seemed like it was also centuries old, but worked fine. We had an excellent dinner at the Vine restaurant. The only challenge at the Red Lion is parking. The website claims that you can reserve one of the spaces in the tiny internal car park for a fee, but our 2-months-early reservation was ignored and we had to circle the confusing one-way system (alas my phone battery died so no GPS!) for 40 minutes until a space in Brown St car park got free. Lesson: make sure you have good maps and unload your luggage in illegal parking outside the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Charming hotel in the heart of Salisbury.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Location, atmosphere, staff.
Cons: Room was a little too warm (late September). Parking is a few blocks away, but overnight is free.
Location: Easy walk to cathedral, shopping, restaurants and pubs.
Pleasant helpful staff in center of Salisbury is a memorable place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Salisbury hotel near Stonehenge

Posted Jul 10, 2016
One night stay because of early-morning departure for tour to Stonehenge and Woodhenge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Old Carriage Inn

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: its charm
Location: It is close to Abvebury Stone Circle, Stonehenge, etc. Don't miss a chance to see Salisbury Cathedral which is a 5-minute walk from the hotel.
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Red Lion Hotel - my only complaint is that the weather was not warm enough for a glass of wine in the courtyard!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 30, 2016
Superior double room lovely but very noisy as single glazed and facing onto busy street. Also would not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues as up 2 flights very steep stairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Its antique ancient feel and its convenience
Cons: The hotel needs to do a deal with the car park system in Salisbury.
Location: Many good coffee shops close by. All of the medieval sites and the cathedral and its close are within walking distance
This is a wonderful old hotel in the centre of Salisbury and ideal for visiting the city centre and its sites. Everything is on the doorstep and I did not find my room noisy. The problem is the parking. There is very limited parking at the hotel and the adjacent car park is for a maximum of 3 hours. The car park in St Georges Mall will cost about £37 for an overnight stay and the car park in Culver Street is £7.40 for the day and you must be up to put more money in at 8am the following morning. The machine in the car park takes cash only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Great stay.

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Warm, friendly staff in a beautiful hotel. Lovely food & a superb family room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midlands

One night stay

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: Old world charm, good fire and comfy seats
Cons: Staff got into muddle over wine order and bill. Didn't seam to know much about things in the hotel ie. pictures history. No museli at breakfast
Very well situated in City for Cathedral, shops,museums walks in the many parks. Good food, evening and breakfast