Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
nice big room and clean. the breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel a little bit outside Swindon

Posted Jun 15, 2016
The hotel is located about 25 mins from the town centre. A car or a taxi might be useful for your transportation to/from Alexandra House. Overall cleaniness of the room and bathroom was excellent. Room could be more modern, but it meets its purpose. I didn't use any facilities apart from the restaurant which is worth a visit. I had fresh fish for main and a wonderful pistachio slice for dessert. The restaurant was well manned hence the staff was always there to serve a lot of people at the same time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great place to stay

Posted May 29, 2016
Great stay in a great location. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly! Breakfast the next morning was delicious. I would stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Nice hotel but expect more for the price

Posted May 9, 2016
Price was a little too high for the quality/cleanliness and the fact no breakfast came with. Besides that nice enough.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Lack of management

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Room was comfortable although television 'froze' on a couple of occasions.
Cons: Restaurant and check-in experience - senior management should make their presence known around the hotel
Location: N/A
Check-in experience - Upon arrival (not at prime time) 4 guests in front of me and only 1 receptionist on duty, needless to say check in took ages not what you want at the end of a long day. Restaurant experience - terrible, waited 20 mins before asked if I'd like a drink then another 20 mins before food order taken. Meal was placed down about 40 mins later with no apology or the vegetables that had been ordered!! Waiter didn't ask if I'd like any sauces etc. Obvious lack of senior management around hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Alexandra House Luxury Hotel close to Swindon

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: Having arrived feeling happy, I left feeling stressed and exhausted.
Cons: Higher staffing levels.Stress management and further training for the staff.
Location: Set in a local beauty spot near Barbary Castle with easy access to Swindon and the M4. Quiet location with views.
I was booked in for two nights as a disabled guest in an adapted room for a weekend break. They had a skeleton staff as the hotel was not full and guests were having to ask for staff to attend the bar/lounge food area. The duty manager was unsupported, overworked, anxious and agitated. No restaurant manager for 70 people. My bath had a large black chip in the bath, the controls were difficult to operate and high up on the wall. A piece of rope added to the roll down blind as an extension.and wardrobe doors that were stuck. I hurt my shoulder trying to open them and despite telling the receptionist and duty manager three times they did not report the incident or offer first aid breaking Health and Safety Regulations. I have since had to visit an osteopath for treatment for the injury I sustained. The duty manager managed to force the doors open with a loud squeal into the middle of the wardrobe which meant I could not access the tea/coffee making facilities, towels and I could not hang up my clothes. I had expressed dietary needs two weeks before arriving, had spoken with the head chef and yet still found myself explaining and waiting to eat. I wanted to eat steak and chips and the duty manager kept stressing the chicken salad would be a safer option. I checked out after three and a half hours. Fire Regulation were also broken as I did not stay one night and yet that is what the receptionist disclosed to me. As a courtesy gesture my bar meal was given free of charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The internet connection is painful

Posted Dec 2, 2015
No signal coverage for EE mobile user. And the Wi-Fi in the room is terrible as well, very slow at night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent venue.

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Comfort and staff.
Cons: Heating and lighting in rooms.
Location: not applicable.
Comfortable rooms. Excellent welcoming staff. The room was very cold, but the radiator soon warmed up the area. Could not get the TV to work that well, but not really interested in Sky programmes so not a problem. Lighting could have been better, and there were no tissues in the room. Good coffee/tea facilities and room location nice and quite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A stay in Alexandra

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Proximity to M4
Cons: Rooms were too warm
Location: Close to M4
Everything was fine. Reception, room, car parking, breakfast and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Good hotel, close to Swindon.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Good hotel. Fulfilled my requirements - close to Swindon, clean, pleasant room, friendly staff, good food. Interesting history.