Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Not as nice as the last time I stayed :-(

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location, room facilities and cleanliness.
Cons: Lots!
I was a bit disappointing when I stayed here this year. this is the third year that I have been to this hotel. I stay one night as part of a conference and then book an extra night independently. When I booked the room there was no mention of the swimming pool being out of use for the entire weekend, have I had known I could easily have stayed somewhere else for less. I also woke up early on the Saturday morning to use the gym facilities but was told that the gym did not open until later contrary to the hotel information which was supplied in the rooms. When I mentioned this, there was no apology just an 'oh, these haven't been updated with the new times'. I also felt that they did not have enough waiting and bar staff available as there was a lot of waiting especially at lunchtime for some water! The food was not as good either. I have to say this was not the greatest stay at this hotel and I will only be returning for the conference and will look into booking the additional night somewhere else. Lots of improvement needed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Just wanted to say thank you

Posted May 17, 2017
I was very impressed with one in particular member of staff, of this hotel, Christine, ( supervisor) who helped me to find my watch which I misplaced by mistake and I could not find it. She was very helpful, kind, professional and of positive nature when dealing with this incident. Thank you very much, Christine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

NOT quite 5 star..

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Superb location
Cons: Televisions and radios in rooms Breakfast arrangements.
Location: Rather isolated but lovely setting.
We stayed at the hotel one night only. Superb location. All staff we met were welcoming, friendly and efficient. Room was pleasant. Unfortunately could not be rated as a room one could expect in a 5 star hotel. Old low cost television with very small screen. Bedside radio cheap and virtually useless for any serious listening. Buffet breakfast was chaotic. No one seemed to be in charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The facilities and service were excellent and as described, we would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Notify people of facilities out of service, they seemed to be short staffed too
Location: Nice location for a walk
Nice hotel, good facilities. The spa was out of service and we were given no notice of that. Also the wardrobe light in room 130 where We stayed would not turn off. we were offered no form of recompense or discount for these two shortcomings.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel in pleasant location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Cons: The television in the room was very small.with few programs There is no signal for mabile phoneswe. The dinner dinner was not as soon on the reduce
Location: Only stayed for one light as leisure trip so did not explore surroundings.
Arrived early but room was ready. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The whole hotel was very clean and had a relaxed atmosphere. There was plenty of space in the room with comfortable beds and xhairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be much better

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Needs some intensive effort on refreshing out of date guest information which misleads. Food was poor and service was ad hoc. Nice setting, a shame the experience did not match
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated and showing it

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Meetings were in the same venue
Cons: Decor, fixtures and fittings, young inexperienced staff
Location: No comment, was on business
Though I had a comfortable night's sleep I would say this hotel is on par with a travelodge but 3 times the price. The room facilities are from an age gone by with a 4:3 television including terrible reception, and old worn furniture. Needs a complete upgrade.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
More like a 2 * hotel