Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: close to shops and transport links Good buffet breakfast
Cons: Car park
Location: City centre Near M4
Late checking but staff helpful with finding the car park Allowed to check out at 12 instead of 11. Kids were got up late for breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Perfect for a short family break!

Posted May 6, 2017
Me, my partner and our 2 young children stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last weekend. Overall we were very impressed - good town centre location, easy and smooth check in, friendly and attentive staff, good facilities and the hotel areas were kept well maintained. We were given a large corner family room with dual aspect windows which comprised of a double bed and a decent sofa bed along with a nice sized wall hung TV, there wasn't a wardrobe, just a small on the wall area to hang a few coats. However because we were there a short time this did not matter to us. The bathroom itself was also a good size. The room was very clean and housekeeping visited on the 2nd day to change towels etc which we didn't expect as we were only there a few nights. Breakfast was ok, plenty of it and ideal that it is included in the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Grotty and inconvenient

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing really
Cons: Almost everything - especially the cleanliness
Location: Near the rail station, good buffet restaurant opposite.
Shower flooded (blocked drain), had low water pressure and the temperature was uncontrollable (turning the right knob made no difference), carpet had big brown stains, one pillow had what looked like bloodstains, one wall had a long slash cut. Room was very cramped as a family room. Sofa bed was uncomfortable. Someone opened the door and partially entered the room at ~7:30 while my children were asleep after a late night (apparently we were marked down as having checked out at 7:20). Lift is badly labelled and seemed to randomly go to the 3rd floor and on one occasion took us down to the ground floor, didn't open and then came straight back up to the lobby. No carpark (unless you are a blue-card holder) - you have to use and pay for the rail station carpark (so if another hotel is £6 more expensive but has a carpark, they are the same price). Breakfast was OK but limited for DF/GF/caffeine-free and since none of it was very nice if it wasn't free I would have gone out for breakfast. Just as near to the city centre as the other hotels we normally stay in - but more convenient for the rail station. You can watch the trains - and keep an eye on your car - since both are a similar distance from your room. Reception only gave me one key at check-in, so when I got back from moving my car, the lift security wouldn't let me go to my floor (I had to go back for another key). Staff were disinterested. Won't be coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Hotel was boiling and air conditioning in room not working not a comfortable nights
5 out of 5
by carol

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
I brought my 18 year old daughter up from London, for a reunion with her friends so I stayed in the room. the room was delightful and comfortable, having breakfast included was a great help to me as my daughter is on treatment for anorexia, and as the breakfast was such a good choice its the first time she has managed to get her own ,breakfast so thank you for a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
by Wayne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by joanne

Great central Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Stay here last weekend, and it was great, the rooms are comfortable, everything you need for a short stay, the breakfast was great, and the hotel staff were very attentive and polite. Smack bang right in the middle of the city centre. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by Madeleine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Well situated

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The room was nice and clean but the bed was very uncomfortable, very soft in places, obviously well used so we didn't sleep well. Breakfast was ok. The manager was the most friendliest and most welcoming I have ever met and almost made up for the poor and disappointing sleep we had