Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted May 24, 2017
Cons: No cooked breakfast available
Location: Its Salisbury so loads of things to do.
Room had view of Cathedral and was right by the river.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Good Hotel, great location

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location, room and the history
Cons: See above.....
Location: Very near the cathedral and town. We were checking out areas for a possible house move so didn't do anything really touristy
Hotel is good but with a few little tweaks could be much better. Little things like no tissues or body lotion in the bathroom. To more important things like staff attitude. When a guest asked for one of the window tables overlooking the river at breakfast, that had already been used, she was told she couldn't sit there as the table was dirty!!! The staff member could have easily cleaned it for them?? Likewise we had to ask for a receipt for our stay, which seemed a bit unprofessional? Otherwise a very comfortable stay, good bed, lovely walk into Salisbury, good continental breakfast and great bar and terrace overlooking the river
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful setting by the river.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Beautiful setting. Convenient as close to Cathedral and the town.
Cons: Perhaps warn guests of wedding reception taking place and, consequently, no bar.
Location: Very pleasant walk to Cathedral and then into town centre. Loads of places of interest in area.
Whole experience would have been very good but the Saturday night was spoiled. We had booked dinner but, on going down for a drink prior to our meal, were directed to a pub around the corner. The bar was not open to residents owing to a wedding reception being held in the hotel. A very poor way to treat guests in a hotel of this standard. We cancelled dinner and walked into town for dinner instead. Otherwise, very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Handy for the town and walks

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: it's position so close to the town though not in it.
Cons: food was good but not exceptional
Location: very handy for the cathedral and other town sites yet peaceful by the river
Friendly staff, good service. Ideal for the town and travelling out of the city. Very pleasant location by the river with a good view of the cathedral.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

one night stay

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Location: This hotel is only a short walk from the city. Water meadows and a old mill.
We were very pleased with the old world charm. They have extended the hotel .Have a very good patio area beside the river. The food was very good and to get a meal until 9 pm on a Sunday a bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent position for a short walk into Salisbur.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Lovely view across the river while enjoying breakfast and evening meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

City hotel in a country setting

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Staff-location-free parking/Wi-Fi -Size and cleanliness of room
Cons: Might have been our gadgets but the Wi-Fi kept kicking us out regularly and we had to keep logging back in
Location: The Cathedral - a must visit.The market on Saturday's .Patissiere Valerie a quality cake shop/ tea room.
Easy to find with ample parking.Situated on the edge of town it is a city hotel but you feel you're in the countryside.Only a 15 minute walk to the centre of Salisbury and 10 minutes to the cathedra,ideally located.Check-in was simple and quick and executed efficiently by the helpful receptionist.The size and cleanliness of the room was excellent.Breakfast,continental, was fine , a cooked option was also available for a surcharge.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from bristol

Lovely location by the river and close to the city

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Loved the room on the ground floor with window looking out onto the river and the cathedral steeple
Cons: Would liked to have been warned of the stairs up and down and the distance to our ground floor room
Location: Pleasant river walks. Interesting city buildings. The Cathedal is one of the most beautiful in England with a slender steeple
I have mobility problems, but with the closeness of the hotel to the Cathedral and Mompessom house, we were able to accomplish our plans,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel of character with riverside views

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Overall a comfortable stay and well looked after by the staff. Our only complaint would be the amount of noise coming from the rooms above - even footfall was disturbing. More effective sound proofing would be helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Nice quiet hotel near to cathedral

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. Easy walk into Salisbury.