Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Ideal base to visit Bath

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Location: Not too difficult to reach the Lansdown Park and Ride for Bath. Ideal for exploring the beautiful countryside and villages of Corsham and Lacock.
Everything about this hotel is exemplary; the location, rooms, restaurant; and above all the warm hospitality and friendliness of the staff. This is no ordinary hotel, it is more like a country residence where you are the guests.There is no 'reception desk' - you check in at the Manager's office where you can take a seat whilst the formalities are done overseen by the house dog who is lying in his basket, a completely docile and friendly hound too chilled to move from his slumber. There are corporate style rooms in the new building but also very individual rooms in the main country house but both can enjoy the extremely comfortable sitting rooms which are very stylised as is the bar and restaurant. The cuisine has Marco's stamp created by his excellent chefs which is extraordinarily good value for the standard. We left vowing to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marlborough

Magic and mystery

Posted Mar 15, 2017
We arrived early afternoon and were welcomed by reception who were very friendly. We left the car and wanderered down to the Quarryman pub in Box to watch England murder Scotland at the rugby before returning the to hotel. As we walked back and the light started to fail we found a hidden air shaft that must be above the Box railway tunnel. Very cool. On our return in moonlight we checked into our room in the treetops annex (away from the main hotel). The rooms are basic but value for money as the main hotel rooms have been individually designed by Marco and priced accordingly. I can understand why some people haven't rated them very highly but I think the price for them is value for money with the added benefit of being able to dine in the hotel which is WONDERFUL. While this is an ongoing development project for Marco and his team it doesn't feel that way and when we stayed all the lounges and dining area were finished and the dining experience is first class. The lounges are well worth exploring before or after dinner. The food was reasonably priced and top notch. The wine was great and the atmosphere perfect for a romantic evening. Breakfast was also wonderful and the service again first class. The staff help make this place special and the backdrop they have created and continue to develop makes it a unique place to stay for a weekend which is exactly what we wanted. I would highly recommend a walk around the grounds to see the animals and garden creations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired and over-priced

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Sent in completely the wrong direction to my room (which was in the Annexe). Broken door into the hallway which was muddy and waterlogged. Lift still out of order. Room was small, cold (the heating didn't work). Bathroom dirty. Chipped paint. Curtains hanging off rails. A lot of other reviews have said the same thing and the promised revamp clearly isn't happening. Waiter at dinner didn't appear to know what was on the menu and what wasn't. Service slow and perfunctory. If this wasn't convenient I wouldn't stay there and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa usa

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Nice location facilities "just okay" if you not staying in main house. They do need to hone their hospitality and communication skills. Apparently changes are on the horizon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick overnight stay, so fine

Posted Feb 8, 2017
This hotel could be fantastic - the building and grounds have great potential, but sadly it needs quite a bit of investment in terms of décor and refurbishment...... Not sure I'd 'recommend' it for someone/couple wanting a pleasant few days away, but for a quick business stay over it was ok. Friendly staff
3 out of 5
by Jeff

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
The room was really nice and the staff were very helpful. Unfortunately the heating didn't seem to work even when I tried to turn it up and the mattress had seen better days
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great experience

Posted Jan 5, 2017
We stayed in the main house. The decor is a great mix of classic and modern and the room was spacious and comfortable. The attention from all staff (especially the Manager, Mimmo) was exceptional. The food and service at dinner and breakfast were also excellent. There are Barbour jackets and boots available for guest use so you can enjoy the extensive grounds without getting wet or muddy. All in all a great find and we will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting stopover for a night.

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Really funky interior & room decor. However the overall decoration of the hotel is somewhat tired & could do with an overhaul. Amazing breakfast room. Good value for money as long as you do not ask for Cereal as well as fried breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Once tried is enough.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Felt unwelcoming -being beckoned hither upon entry where the reception was tucked conspicuously away in a room to the side. For breakfast no staff could be found untill I interrupted someone having a smoke behind the kitchens - lovely. Wifi I did not work in either the room or in the restaurant. My work had to be done standing out on the landing of the annex. Some loud mouth with tattoos made a load of noise then helped himself to the kitchen and came out with his pals and a plate of to-go food. The place probably runs like clockwork when the boss is in, otherwise - apart from the excellent evening service staff in the restaurant - it's a place for work mate to doss.