Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B and B close to centre of Salisbury

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: John and Lois were really nice friendly and helpful. John carried heavy bags , unasked up to the third floor. They also provided some helpful tips.
Cons: Wifi coverage did not work on 2nd floor and only got one hit and miss TV channel
Location: Salisbury Cathedral and old Sarum fort. There is an Avon valley walk but we couldn't find it
We had a very pleasant stay at Spire. The location was very good nice and close to the centre so easy to walk to eateries
5 out of 5
by lck from bristol

A real gem!

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels
I stayed at Spire House for a weekend with two friends. The reviews for Spire House were great, and they weren't wrong! Lovely house, great service, and real attention to detail. We stayed in room 3 (triple room at the back on top floor) which was lovely. Proximity to the Cathedral was brilliant, and a walk to town not much further. Easily parked right outside. Would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a relaxing stay, on the doorstep of town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by matt from devon,uk

Small personal b&b close to town centre

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: It's location was 5 minutes from city centre and our room had views of cathedral. It was small,friendly and personal.
Cons: feel the cold so used an extra duvet from bed settee, could have an extra heater in the room. Secondary glazing may help road noise,bigger wardrobe
Location: Excellent location 5 minute walk from city centre, pubs and restaurants on same street. Cathedral views from room, 2 minute walk away.
The owners john and Lois were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable, they were also very helpful with information about Salisbury's restaurants and places of interest. The breakfast was excellent and reasonable. The room was a good size and had a four poster and was beautifully presented with a large ensuite. The wardrobe could have been bigger but was adequate. There was a fridge with milk and water, tea and coffee and chocolate,apples and snacks (a nice touch). There was some road noise but we live in the country so may not bother most people. We also feel the cold and couldn't adjust radiator we used an extra duvet which was fine. Altogether a lovely weekend and very enjoyable stay. Would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
by Julia from Seattle, WA

Bike in the back garden

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels
The room and public areas were clean, well and cleverly appointed--lots of artistic touches and color. Our room was high but on the street--a bit noisy so ask for a back room if that might bother you (did have a view of the spire). Breakfast was not included but there were nice choices at £5 apiece. We were on a bike tour and they stored our tandem in the back garden. We walked to the cathredral foe evensong--a lovely way to see/hear the ancient and awe-inspiring space. We had a nice dinner at the Cosy Inn--a quirky pub on New Street nearby.
5 out of 5
by Elisabeth Scharlack from Boston

In Salisbury you should stay here---really!

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels
Spire B&B is a charming house with beautiful rooms and private baths, right outside the close (the wall) around the cathedral. It also is convenient to the famous Salisbury market on Thursday and Saturday, as well as to the bus tours to Stonehenge. But what makes this extraordinary are the hosts, John and Lois, who couldn't be more helpful and friendly. They are always available to answers questions, help with suggestions--and John cooks a terrific breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Memphis, TN, USA

Loved it!

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Has to be one of the best B&B's in England! Great rooms, location, and fanatic hosts! It's worth a trip to Salisbury just to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Aughton, Lancashire, UK

Good value B&B with a great location.

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: Quirky decor and pictures/ornaments in the room. Bring a book and take a book swap shop. Location location. Helpfulness of owners.
Cons: Breakfast is an optional extra (decide night before). We didn't bother as it is just a stones throw to Starbucks also seemed to be one communal table.
Location: Great location right opposite the Cathedral area and just a short walk into town. Parking a little bit awkward but owners very helpful.
Salisbury was one of those places we've never got round to visiting so it was the latest location for a long weekend (3 nights). Torn between splashing out on a Country House hotel or just going for a "nice" pleasant B&B. The accountant in me opted for the latter. Perused Tripadvisor for a while and went for Shire House. First of all this is a B&B so don't expect Country House hotel luxury. Having said that there are B&Bs and then there are B&Bs and this is a very nice one. Outside it looks a bit cramped and is on a Main Street but inside its bigger than you think. Our room was spacious (4 poster bed) very nicely decorated and a little quirky. The owners are very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful assisting with parking, luggage carrying, recommendations for places to see and places to eat. Breakfast is optional for an extra charge but we just nipped into town. The location is excellent, literally just across the road from a gated entrance into the Cathedral area. If you are doing sightseeing do visit Stonehenge (amazing), do the cathedral roof tour if you can manage 300+ steps (£10 charge but worth it), do stroll around the city (fantastic buildings and so much history). Acid test is - could I live in Salisbury - yes I could AND if I was coming back would I stay at Shire House - yes I would.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Welcoming, comfortable, well located

Posted May 22, 2013
Pros: Warm, friendly hosts, superb location, comfortable rooms
Location: Short walk to the cathedral on the other side of Exeter Street, close to the centre of town, easy to find.
Lois and John are marvellous, friendly and helpful hosts in this excellent bed and breakfast just outside the Salisbury Cathedral Close. The walk to the cathedral is only a few hundred metres and the spire can indeed by seen from the house. The room was very comfortable and well equipped, quiet, nice bed and pillows, satisfactory bathroom. Parking is not really a problem as there is a likelihood of finding a space in the street outside after 6.30, and John or Lois can give you a special permit to keep your car there all of the next day. Alternatively, John can show you to a car-park down the street and around the corner. The breakfast was very good, and I tried Lois's great slow-cooked porridge with fruit on one morning. All in all, this is one of the best bed and breakfast establishments I have ever stayed in, highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay but lousy pillow

Posted Apr 11, 2013 on Hotels
Extremely friendly owners that make you feel at home. Convenient location, but parking is hit or miss, depending if spots on the street are available outside the B&B. What makes me downgrade my review is the thin, old, lumpy pillow on my bed--bummed me out--I mean, a comfy night's sleep is what it's all about, isn't it?! But my husband and daughter had no such complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic!!

Posted Apr 10, 2013
I and my husband stayed for 2 nights in Spire House B&B. There was the best B&B where I've ever stayed!! Our room was lovely and very clean,breakfast was delicious and also Lois and John were great host! Their hospitality was perfect!! We hope to go back in the future.