Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Full overhaul.
Location: On a bad bend. Busy in the mornings
Every outdated. Old pine furniture. Badly strained and marked. Walls needing painted. Shower cubicle had leak in the corner and rusted. We had room only. Never saw anyone in the morning when we were going out. No one about when we left. Poor experience not to be done again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place!!

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel with a pub!!!! Spacious room and good breakfast, in an area with lots to see and do. Helpful, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff very friendly, good food, , comfortable

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was very good -& enjoyable, would stay again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
excellent place, stayed for 4 nights as was working in area. food fantastic and staff really nice. would stay again, real good value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gem above a charming resturant

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay for the cost. The room and bathroom were very clean. The restaurant below was charming and the staff was incredibly friendly. The room could use a little TLC in some spots but the issues seem like very easy fixes (e.g., some peeling paint along the top of the wall) and did not detract from our overall pleasant stay. The area was secluded but breakfast is available at the restaurant below to guests for a small fee. We'd certainly stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from loughborough

quite good, really - but i dont want to overpraise

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
if I praise too much, it will become even more popular and I will then find it more difficult to book next time!!! air conditioning - yes - just open the windows. room & en-suite of adequate size and cleanliness. comfortable bed, bar with proper beer & food - excellent. the only real let down is the poor wine list - some of us don't subscribe to new world! but if that's as bad as it gets, there's really nothing to whinge about!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Weekend away

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Small, personable and staff very helpful and friendly.
Small hotel near Royal Wootten Bassett just off M4. Staff very friendly and most helpful, food good and plentiful.
4 out of 5
by Carolyn from Wakefield

One night stay

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were so helpful. Very polite. Garden area tranquil and perfect. Only one gripe. Shower needs updating. Doors were very Difficult to open and poor water pressure.
3 out of 5
by Richard

Good location

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant environment and good food if a little pricey. Room comfortable although poor shower pressure. Wifi dropped out often.