Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Elaine

Lovely Hotel with individuality

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
The Highworth is a small but lovely hotel - it has only 10 rooms each individual in nature. The staff are friendly and efficient. Our twin room was a little small in size (eg no room for chairs to watch TV from) but beautifully decorated and clean and the hospitality tray included choice of teas,coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and a bottle of drinking water replenished every day (a great idea and saved a lot of money in buying bottled water). Lovely bathroom. Beds very comfy. Very quiet in room which was on second floor and looked out over the main street of Highworth (might have been noisier but it was Christmas so little traffic). Also got a bowl of sweets and Christmas Card in the room. There was a problem with a flashing light (bulb needed replacing) but that was sorted out perfectly within a few hours.Full English was great - all perfectly cooked. Perhaps a bit more choice of cereals for children would have been good. Service great and very friendly. Overall a great stay and we will be back!
4 out of 5
by Lee

good hotel - parking is fun!

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
I prefer to stay at non chain hotels - I had no real complaints here (or at least none that the hotel have control over) The room was a little warm in the evening as there is no air conditioning but it was the middle of summer. I would advise caution to those with wide cars as the alleyway into the carpark is very very tight with just 1 or 2 inches of clearance in the tightest spot. Apart from all that everything else was fine
4 out of 5
by Terry from Harrogate

Enjoyable

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
I pointed out a couple of really small issues and they were well received by the staff as positive feedback
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Good Value

Posted Aug 1, 2016
A good value hotel. We enjoyed a restaurant dinner and there was ample choice for breakfast. The plumbing in the room required minor attention for a dripping shower and the sink plug not fitting tight enough. The bed was large and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Nice hotel. Staff very friendly. Some work planned to upgrade boilers etc for hot water. I will be back to stay here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Has the potential to be great

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff
Cons: The building both inside and out. Renovations have started and will impact over time.
Location: The hotel is well situated in an area of natural beauty and historical connection.
The new owners have only been in charge for about ten days and are beginning to make improvements in all areas. The staff are its strength as they are very friendly, helpful and determined to succeed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Mixed feelings about this hotel. First time i have stayed here. Nice rooms but price seems higj to me. Tv didnt work in my room either and as it was late and reception werent sure why i left it. Also asked for an iron and ironing board but it amazes me how many hotels (and i stay in quite a few) have dirty irons- please take note and clean them, appreciate previous guests no doubt cause the problem but its not great to get an iron you dont want to use. Also beware if driving as rhe coach house style entrance is very very narrow so fold in your wing mirrors and take it slowly. Nice breakfast and pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Really helpful and chatty staff made this visit a real pleasure
2 out of 5
by W from London

What a horrible night and stay

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
There was beer festival going on, no one told us from hotel.com or even from hotel, we were told that all music and noises will end by 11:30pm but people were still on terrace till 02:30am, making so much noise, we could not sleep, we had to call the reception to ask them to lower their voices.... No consideration to others
4 out of 5
by peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels