Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Nice hotel. Staff very friendly. Some work planned to upgrade boilers etc for hot water. I will be back to stay here
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has the potential to be great

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff
Cons: The building both inside and out. Renovations have started and will impact over time.
Location: The hotel is well situated in an area of natural beauty and historical connection.
The new owners have only been in charge for about ten days and are beginning to make improvements in all areas. The staff are its strength as they are very friendly, helpful and determined to succeed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Mixed feelings about this hotel. First time i have stayed here. Nice rooms but price seems higj to me. Tv didnt work in my room either and as it was late and reception werent sure why i left it. Also asked for an iron and ironing board but it amazes me how many hotels (and i stay in quite a few) have dirty irons- please take note and clean them, appreciate previous guests no doubt cause the problem but its not great to get an iron you dont want to use. Also beware if driving as rhe coach house style entrance is very very narrow so fold in your wing mirrors and take it slowly. Nice breakfast and pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Really helpful and chatty staff made this visit a real pleasure
2 out of 5
by W from London

What a horrible night and stay

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
There was beer festival going on, no one told us from hotel.com or even from hotel, we were told that all music and noises will end by 11:30pm but people were still on terrace till 02:30am, making so much noise, we could not sleep, we had to call the reception to ask them to lower their voices.... No consideration to others
4 out of 5
by peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

A Warm Wiltshire Welcome

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet, friendly
Cons: The reception signage, but this is I imagine part of the on-going work.
Location: Plenty of restaurants nearby, if the excellent menu does not tempt you. A nice village centre nearby.
This apparently recently refurbished hotel has been very tastefully and sensitively decorated to create a warm, calm and friendly environment. The completion of the reception area (work on-going June 2015) will no doubt ensure the final jigsaw piece is in place for a high quality welcome. Everyone from the French Manager (no doubt ensuring culinary excellence) to the Bar and Waiting team members did a great job of making me feel at home. It's not often on my travels that everyone makes you feel valued. The room was very clean; the bathroom in my room was very well designed (I took a photo to steal a few ideas for back home). The rooms were named with an entertaining twist with the room number embedded in the text. Despite it's proximity to a junction that was quite busy in rush hour, the village was relatively quiet at night. My bedroom was within the central horseshoe of the building well away from the road. Because of it's period nature, some of the staircases offer a challenge to those returning from an evening in the bar, however this rustic charm felt very appropriate and far better than losing the character. Being an old coaching inn, the entrance to the rear car park is quite tricky as the narrow passage, fine for medium sized cars was, at around 1.95M, 5cm narrower than my 7 seater people carrier. However, with one wing mirror folder in, it's quite possible to navigate through. Next time I'll take one of the small number of pavement spaces at the front.
4 out of 5
by James from Chester

Excellent Hotel for break, but not work

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly, dinner served with a smile and excellent quality. Good Selection of draft beers for a hotel. Continental breakfast at 07:00 was not always available, only downside if you needed to be at work in Swindon for 08:00
5 out of 5
by Maureen from Rugby

Never judge a book by its cover!

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
From outside the Highworth appears a little past its best, don't be fooled by appearances though, its just a clever disguise. The public rooms are clean, tastefully furnished and recently refurbished the bar and public lounge are noteworthy. The staff are friendly and helpfuland care about what they do. Our bedroom (High Stakes - they all have a "High" theme) was clean spacious and recently refurbished - it was also comfortable and quiet. I'll save the best 'til last; the food! Having booked for dinner as a kind of last resort we didn't expect a lot, how wrong could we be? The menu was adventurous but not Blumenthal-ingly pretentious the food was well served well presented and well cooked - no wonder the restaurant was full, the locals are obviously keeping it quiet! We would definitly stay again even if it means finding an excuse to be in the area!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Clearly under staffed and consequently a bad review as things good be much better. This hotel has potential but signs of a lack of investment everywhere from the in room entertainment to the strange smell of drains at reception that looks like one of those dining room hatches so popular in the seventies.