Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

welcoming and comfortable

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: nice rooms, functional. Nice bathrooms, nice pub
We stayed for 1 night at The Old House at Home and it was fantastic. The staff where very welcoming as soon as we arrived and got us checked in straight away. The rooms are pretty new of good size and very comfortable a fantastic base to explore the gorgeous part of the world. On a busy Saturday night in the pub they managed to squeeze us in for a table for dinner and the food was delicious. The portions where very good and would satisfy anybody who had been out all day, nice beer on tap also. The following morning we enjoyed a well cooked English breakfast. You can tell the ingredients are all sourced locally. A great place to stay, eat, drink or all 3, we will be back.
5 out of 5
by Tim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by lee

*****

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
Can't fault it. Food in the bar is excellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely, Quaint hotel near Castle Combe

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Great local hotel with intimate B&B atmosphere, great dinner food, and yummy breakfast with freshly made croissants
5 out of 5
by Lester from North Devon

five star service all round

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely faultless in every way. Superb staff, good accommodation and excellent food. Would recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
by Chris from Portsmouth

Quiet getaway in the country

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely pub with comfortable and modern accommodation. The food was excellent, with good portion sizes and high quality and presentation. Would certainly stay again if in the area.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Northampton, England

Poor service.

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Well, customer service here has gone downhill since I last stayed, that's for sure. I checked in and was asked, rather gruffly, "stayed here before?". "Yes", I replied. "Just go through the back", came the response. Normally, they show you to your room. When I checked out, I couldn't gain access to the pub and I couldn't find anyone outside, either (it was 7:15 am). I ended up having to leave my key in a grotty food delivery area around the back of the pub. I assume they found it. The room itself was fine but this place needs to remember that people buy from people.
5 out of 5
by michael from Dublin

Worth a visit

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Great find. Really good, reasonably priced and perfectly cooked food. One of the best steaks I ever had for the evening meal. The room was large and comfortable. I think it could have done with some carpeting and wall furnishings though as the room echoes a lot. This would give the room a more cosy feel I think. Anyway - small gripe and I've already booked a return visit!!
3 out of 5
by Not Provided from LLandrindod Wells

Lovely Pub, ...... but......

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great difficulty on getting through on the telephone to the Hotel,A very disinterested person answered the telephone after leaving two messages , one the previous day !!!! Manner, not good. we stayed a couple of nights, The bed was comfortable with good pillows and bed linen but far to small, double, did enquire if all were this size, apparently Room 6, I think, has a king-size bed. not many Hotels these days have doubles !!!!!To small . The first evening we had dinner, excellent food, very poor slow service. Breakfast ok, could be a better selection of fresh fruit, had to ask for marmalade and butter. Lovely fresh eggs cooked beautifully, Must say the staff were very helpful, Think it was Sally who brought a paper for us on her way to work, she was lovely. Loved the Pub, but décor very tired, and back entrance very scruffy, Owners Son really needs to brush up on his " Peoples Skills" Did try to talk to him, but very curt manor, such a shame for someone at Front of House !!!!!!!
3 out of 5
by Adam from Wales

Adequate but expensive

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
Adequate but by no means 5* as has been rated. Food was excellent, but the service was variable (good one day, struggling the next). Purpose built accommodation was ok but not 5*. Maybe due to the Autumn Classic down the road meant the prices were high but the price charged did not reflect the quality apart from the location.