Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely pub with rooms

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed at The RedLion as I was down on business in Swindon. I chose it because it had free wifi and breakfast and it was well priced vs other close establishments. I was made very welcome and the service was without fault. My room was very comfortable (it went a little cold as the heating had gone off very late into the evening but they had supplied a stand alone heater should I need it) The breakfast was cooked to order, (I had scrambled egg with smoked salmon on a toasted muffin) and it was very nice.I would definitely stay again. NB. I mistakenly thought there would be a car park at the back of the pub. There is a small road/lane immediately after the pub where I thought access to it would be. DO NOT drive down it as you will find it very hard to get out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, United States of America

Cosy Pub

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Excellent Pub food, wine and beer. Room was out back and up stairs but was warm and comfortable. Parking was a problem as they have no parking lot. Don't go down the lane next to the pub as it quickly narrows down to the width of a car.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay.

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
After struggling to park due to evening arrival managed to get spot in street not too far away. Very welcoming staff great beer selection. food looked incredible. Had burger and chips home made but a bit disappointed with flavour. Room lovely and quiet. Clean and comfy bed. Breakfast was really good. Bar the parking and slight disappointment with meal would have been five out of five on everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

relaxing stay

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable and attractive old pub, nice quiet room with comfortable bed. Good food and interesting ales. Friendly staff.
Cons: It was difficult to get in and out of the shower. Stone floors would benefit from something warm to stand on.
Location: Lovely old town but didn't stay long enough to appreciate it properly.
This was a very pleasant change from the chain hotels we usually stay at when we break up our journey back from Heathrow to South Wales. We received a warm welcome from Tim who showed us our room alongside the main pub area. It was very quiet at night in our room in spite of the pub being busy, and we enjoyed a lovely meal and sampled the ale brewed on the premises. Nice breakfast cooked to order, good coffee and friendly service. Some difficulty in parking as there is no car park. We would stay here again without hesitation, next time we'll bring slippers to walk on the bare cold stone floors in the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely welcoming stay.

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great hospitality, beer and food. Dogs are made very welcome,the whole stay was a delight and we could not recommend the Red Lion enough - you will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bath

hidden gem within easy reach of Swindon

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
fabulous food, great beer, comfortable rooms what more do you need?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What an amazing place to stay

Posted Sep 14, 2016
I had an excellent stay at the red lion. The staff are friendly and I was blown away by the food.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Chorleywood

Friendly and welcoming

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely welcoming place to return to each night after walking the Thames path.
4 out of 5
by ward from California

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent food, great selection of beer, village had everything you need but not too big, easy access to village, Thames footpath for hiking.
3 out of 5
by Darren from Australia

Worst nights sleep

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Good room and pub but the worst sleep we've had in a hotel after the lights went a bright green glow from a emergency light in the room lit the entire room then at 5 to 5 in the morning they started moving beer kegs outside our window but food was great