Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight Stop

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was nicely presented and clean but the bed was a little uncomfortable, glad it was only for one night. There is secondary glazing but if you are road side you can still hear the busy road. The pub is very pleasant but has a limited weekend menu with just a carvery, no specials. I enjoyed my meal though. Breakfast was included in the price but nothing special, I had toast and not all of it was toasted! However there is a nice selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and cold meats on offer as well as cooked options.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Country Inn with easy city access.

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
This was a superb inn with easy access to town, but a country-side feel. The staff were gracious and helpful. The inn was remarkable for the excellent restaurant and even a skittles alley in the back dining room. Overall, a delightful stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Good, The Bad & The Ugly.

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
OK - I would view this hotel as being akin to the movie "The Good, The Bad & The Ugly". 1st - "The Good". The food was EXCELLENT - REALLY good - surprisingly so for a public house with rooms - but superb, and very good value for money. The breakfast was again very, very good - I had Eggs Benedict - delicious. Aaron (Bar Man & Front of House) is a really great guy - engaging, caring & very proud of the venue. "The Bad". The accommodation area (hallways, rooms etc) are in dire need of some TLC. They are tired, the carpets are worn & it just needs updating. "The Ugly". I don't know when my room was hovered, but there was some remnants of a sticky sweet that I stepped in whilst walking around my bed. However, from what I can gather, the owners are relatively new and they are embarking on an overhaul of the pub, so good times going forward hopefully. I would stay here again though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1 night stay in half term

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Staff. Really friendly and welcoming
Cons: The windows outside could do with cleaning and the garden made a little more appealing (empty/dead plants in pots)
Location: Stonehenge. Salisbury Cathedral and Longleat Safari Park
We stayed to break up a trip to Stonehenge and Salisbury one day, and Longleat the next. Really welcoming staff and good evening meal in the restaurant, albeit the choices were slightly limited due to an impending menu change. Enjoyed the skittle alley and breakfast was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Salisbury.

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
The first night did not get off to a good start: service in the bar slow and inefficient (and they weren't busy) and the food not enjoyable. To be fair they did deduct the price from the bill. After that things did improve - the room was quite good, as was breakfast each day. We did not eat there again in the evening though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton UK

A lovely old inn.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Enjoyed sitting out by the stream opposite The Swan. The food was very good. Staff worked hard but we're very helpful.
Cons: I liked it just as it is.
Location: Very good location on the main road into Salisbury 30 min by car. A historical town with an imposing cathedral. 30 min from Longleat Safari Park.
ThE room was spotless, big enough and a beautiful view over the stream and fields. A modern on suite bathroom. The breakfast was very good as was the evening meal. Excellent value for money. A typical old world inn with sloping floors and exposed beams gave it character. Only small problem was that it is situated on a busy road, although the secondary glazing kept the noise to a minimum. Ideal for visiting Salisbury, Stone henge and Longleat Safari Park.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast and meals were very good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean Hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Room is clean and breakfast is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, Australia

Only a short drive into Salisbury

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Cons: The hotel was what we expected. The furnishings were a little tired, but we thought it was good value for money.
Very nice old hotel only a short drive from Salisbury. We had a shared bathroom which was clean with excellent water pressure. We walked across the little bridge to the village of Great Wishford, which is very picturesque and well worth having a look at if you have time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels