Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2016
Very welcoming and helpful staff, we enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austria

OK for one night ...

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: There wasn't really anything to like. It was OK, it sufficed. The room was large.
Cons: The building has a real 1990s feel to it and it needs a refurb. The room had a wall-mounted fan heater instead of proper central heating.
Location: The hotel is easy to find. There is a bowling alley and takeaway nearby. Handy when the restaurant management decides to close early.
The check in was fine with friendly reception staff. There was plenty of parking. My real gripe is with the restaurant. It was advertised as staying open until 10pm. However, when I arrived for dinner at 9:30, I was told it was closed. Tedious to say the least. The alternative was the neighbouring bar with football blasting out. Instead I opted for a takeaway from the local Indian restaurant. I wouldn't choose to stay here again, but if I had to, I suppose it would be OK. I just wouldn't expect much.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Stayed for business, some of the reception staff were a little rude, dated bathroom., comfortable bed and quiet. Good gym facilities and close to other amenities in Swindon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Martinborough vinyards, NZ.

Relaxing after a long journey.

Posted Apr 22, 2016
I enjoy staying in the Village Hotel Swindon after a long flight into Heathrow. It's only an hour and half from M25 in heavy traffic. There's a pool, sauna and steam room to help relax after a journey. The restaurant and bar serve good food without being extortionate in pricing. The staff are helpful and accommodating. Rooms are well presented and facilities were excellent. I will definitively stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Our weekend stay

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: The hotel was friendly, Swimming area facilities were good
Cons: More Information on what is in and around Swindon
Location: Shopping, nearest petrol station, pictures, Indian Restaurant, bowling
We were happy with the room which was a little smaller than shown in the pictures Staff were pleasant, and welcoming We had to request when our room was going to be cleaned as we stayed for 2 days only to find, when cleaned, we had been left with only 1 bath and 1 hand towel All together an enjoyable experience and would look to book with this group again
3 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dated in some areas - not really up to 4*

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Pros: Free parking and wi-fi
Cons: Put in brighter light bulbs. Fix the draughty windows. Have a plug socket near the kettle, rather than having to plug it in on the floor near the bed.
Location: There is a cinema opposite
The room was noisy and cold, due to loose-fitting old windows letting in a draft and noise from the road. The room was also too dark, with not enough light bulbs - I had some work to do, but it was too dark, even with all the lights on.The carpet was nice and modern. The bed was large and very comfortable. It was good that they had a spa and swimming pool, though as the pool was hexagonal, every time people tried to do lengths they would collide with each other.
3 out of 5
by Lucia from Hants

OK for the value, but be carefull with the extras!

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Overall OK. Breakfast was too expensive for what it was (10£ per person and not much choice... unless you want a full British!) For that price you expect a bit more on the continental side (cold meats and cheeses, pancakes or Danish pastries, and a better selection of coffees; cappuccino and lattes and herbal teas) Bed was wonderful, and room was clean and tidy (and I'm a fussy person) Again, swimming pool was too crowded (we paid 5£ pp) and only stayed for 10 minutes as we could barely get in... They should have mentioned that there were swimming classes and lots of people from outside the hotel enjoying the facilities (we wouldn't have paid for it then)! Everything else was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Great amenities surrounding the hotel and in the hotel. Upgraded to upperdeck but only had one towel and the Starbucks coffee were only 2sachets, did expect a coffee machine for the amount of money to upgrade. The room had debris on floor by bed casters. Great nights sleep would go again but maybe not upgrade as probably not worth the extra £15.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels