Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Devon

Good centrally located hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The location was good. The bed was large and comfortable. The towels were also bath sheet size.
Cons: The water pressure for the shower could have been better.
Location: Winchester is a very historic city; although we were only staying overnight we enjoyed a pleasant walk around looking at the cathedral and buildings.
A very pleasant hotel situated centrally in Winchester but with a garden and located away from the main street so, therefore, quiet. The staff were helpful and the room of a good size.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Cons: Noise, and larger bathroom
We drove down to Winchester and booked en route, so it was a case of what was available. It wasn't clear on the website (or rather it's hidden away) that there is a £10 surcharge to park your car there overnight. We were in room 123, I would avoid, the bathroom is 2 foot wide, the bed is very soft and you can hear every noise down the corridor. Someone was trying to get in our room at 2am! The rooms must be tricky to find as we heard the night porter accompany at least 2 other people to their rooms. Not a great nights sleep, we won't be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2017
We only stayed for one night but our stay was enjoyable. The hotel is in a central location and we could walk front he train station. Our room was clean and the atmosphere of the hotel good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel very close to shops etc.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Had a very nice stay with four friends the food in restaurant was very good and the staff very attentive. the only thing that let it down was the weather rained all day. I would certainly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WM

Great location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Location, character and charm
Cons: Bar service
Very close to the high street yet pretty quiet with the window open (it was a bit warm in the rooms) and this made the stay all the more enjoyable. The gardens are nice and the layout is charming, staff on the desk very good indeed even after a 14-hour shift! On the down side: no chance of you sneaking around in this very creaky and genuinely old Hotel, floorboards creak like buggery but I guess that adds to it all. The bar staff are magical, they disappear whenever you want a drink and the £10 a night charge for the Hotels own car park is a bit galling. Having said that, I would stay here again without any hesitation, cool place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Convenient to town centre, with nice garden view

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Coonvenient, pleasant reception staff, parking on site.
Cons: Breakfast facilities
Stained towel in bathroom, & expensive bar drinks, queue for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shropshire

perfectly situated

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: bar service
great location. hotel looking a bit tired but acceptable. the bar was service was poor. never anyone around. guests would leave rather than keep waiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Worked out well We have stayed there before so that helped. Near to my niece's house.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Ops Manager, Hotel Management
Thank-you for your response, we look forward to you returning to The Winchester Royal in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Overpriced hotel with poor, too few staff

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Location and the garden.
Cons: Number of staff, staff training and attitude, price.
Location: Central and within easy walking distance of everything in central,Winchester.
One person on reception trying to cope with check-ins and all other enquiries from function guests. No offer of help with luggage to the room. When trying to get a taxi rung to pick us up to go to an evening event we gave up waiting in reception and asked one of the two bar staff as by now there was no-one behind the desk, and no bell to summon anyone. In the morning when telephoning reception to make a request, there was no answer for several minutes as, again, there was only one person on reception. Breakfast was not a good experience. No one was at the desk to greet us and show us to a table so after waiting for some minutes we found a table ourselves. Tables required clearing and food and juice on the buffet tables required replenishing. Three staff only seemed to be in evidence, and they were clearly rushed off their feet. One apologised and said they were a staff member down. Only one! We waited thirty minutes for two poached eggs each. After asking, twice, when we would have them ("they are on their way" - where to? Timbuctoo?) two overcooked eggs were produced. We cancelled the other portion as we had no more time before having to go to our meeting in the hotel. Check out was also slow. Again only one staff member on duty, trying to cope with lots of people wanting to check out at 10.00 a.m. The staff need to 'up their game': they need training and management. This hotel is vastly overpriced for what is delivered. A shame as it used to be good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandhurst

Great, Central Hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
This is a great place to stay. It is tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and central to the sights such as the Cathedral and shops. The staff are superb; everyone remembers my name and are really friendly. It really makes you feel at home. They are also extremely helpful. My only concerns are the lack of lift and key-cards that are always problematic. I would also suggest that the flowers at reception are changed more regularly as sometimes they are dead or dying and this is not fitting for such a nice place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Marta Lourido, Hotel Management
Dear Jo- Thank you for taking time to leave a review and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your sta. Kind Regards Marta Lourido Reservations Co-Ordinator