Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WM

Great location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Location, character and charm
Cons: Bar service
Very close to the high street yet pretty quiet with the window open (it was a bit warm in the rooms) and this made the stay all the more enjoyable. The gardens are nice and the layout is charming, staff on the desk very good indeed even after a 14-hour shift! On the down side: no chance of you sneaking around in this very creaky and genuinely old Hotel, floorboards creak like buggery but I guess that adds to it all. The bar staff are magical, they disappear whenever you want a drink and the £10 a night charge for the Hotels own car park is a bit galling. Having said that, I would stay here again without any hesitation, cool place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Convenient to town centre, with nice garden view

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Coonvenient, pleasant reception staff, parking on site.
Cons: Breakfast facilities
Stained towel in bathroom, & expensive bar drinks, queue for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shropshire

perfectly situated

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: bar service
great location. hotel looking a bit tired but acceptable. the bar was service was poor. never anyone around. guests would leave rather than keep waiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Worked out well We have stayed there before so that helped. Near to my niece's house.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Ops Manager, Hotel Management
Thank-you for your response, we look forward to you returning to The Winchester Royal in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Overpriced hotel with poor, too few staff

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Location and the garden.
Cons: Number of staff, staff training and attitude, price.
Location: Central and within easy walking distance of everything in central,Winchester.
One person on reception trying to cope with check-ins and all other enquiries from function guests. No offer of help with luggage to the room. When trying to get a taxi rung to pick us up to go to an evening event we gave up waiting in reception and asked one of the two bar staff as by now there was no-one behind the desk, and no bell to summon anyone. In the morning when telephoning reception to make a request, there was no answer for several minutes as, again, there was only one person on reception. Breakfast was not a good experience. No one was at the desk to greet us and show us to a table so after waiting for some minutes we found a table ourselves. Tables required clearing and food and juice on the buffet tables required replenishing. Three staff only seemed to be in evidence, and they were clearly rushed off their feet. One apologised and said they were a staff member down. Only one! We waited thirty minutes for two poached eggs each. After asking, twice, when we would have them ("they are on their way" - where to? Timbuctoo?) two overcooked eggs were produced. We cancelled the other portion as we had no more time before having to go to our meeting in the hotel. Check out was also slow. Again only one staff member on duty, trying to cope with lots of people wanting to check out at 10.00 a.m. The staff need to 'up their game': they need training and management. This hotel is vastly overpriced for what is delivered. A shame as it used to be good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandhurst

Great, Central Hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
This is a great place to stay. It is tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and central to the sights such as the Cathedral and shops. The staff are superb; everyone remembers my name and are really friendly. It really makes you feel at home. They are also extremely helpful. My only concerns are the lack of lift and key-cards that are always problematic. I would also suggest that the flowers at reception are changed more regularly as sometimes they are dead or dying and this is not fitting for such a nice place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Marta Lourido, Hotel Management
Dear Jo- Thank you for taking time to leave a review and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your sta. Kind Regards Marta Lourido Reservations Co-Ordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Happy visit

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Charm and character
Cons: It was a rare hot spell and the room was warm
Location: The cathedral is well worth a visit and there was a Jane Austin exhibition at the library. Plenty of small interesting shops.
Well placed to visit shops and Cathedral. Hotel has a quiet garden which is a delight on the sunshine. Room was clean and the bathroom was large with both a bath and shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Marta Lourido, Hotel Management
Dear Iain- Thank you for taking time to leave a review and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay, we do provide fans for that rare and wonderful hot days. Kind Regards Marta Lourido Reservations Co-Ordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted Jun 27, 2017
A great place to stay in the centre of the city. A mixture of old and more modern buildings. Staff very helpfull. Our room in the old building was very comfortable. Bar and garden area has a very nice and relaxed feel about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Lindsey trend-Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and Im glad you enjoyed your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant location close to the shops etc

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location, old building
Cons: Heating - too hot in the hotel and little / no air conditioning
Location: Bars, shops restaurant, cultural sights and attractions
Hotel was well located. The rooms in the newer part of the building are not particularly luxurious but are comfortable. I was very disappointed with the booking with Expedia, the room reference is beyond misleading. Expedia promote a 'Superior' double which on the hotel website is detailed as one type of room however the expedia version of the Superior room is a standard double with a garden view. At no point during the booking is this made clear. I booked the room at £188 for 1 night with no breakfast on that basis. Expectation on arrival is understandably superior room as advertised on the hotel website. I would most definitely have thought twice about booking a standard double for £188. In fact I would never have paid that fee for the standard of room received.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Lindsey Trend- Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Thank you for taking time to respond. I'm sorry that you felt you were mislead by the room names, here at the hotel, we call our rooms overlooking the garden , "garden facing rooms". this then leaves no room for error. We have been experiencing some very hot weather here and whilst the 2 week summer we tend to have does not justify air con units, we are looking to locate fans in our bedrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Perfect location for Winchester centre. Walkable from train station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Chris Atkins - Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank-you for your response