Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Comfortable if you want the bare minimum. But too pricey for location and amenities it offers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel let down by its staff

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Quirky hotel in a lovely position. Staff were very disappointing, we were given very little information regarding anything. There is no night porter and we were locked in, had to leave by a fire escape to get our early train The telephone numbers provided on check in went straight to voicemail. All rooms are upstairs reached by a very narrow staircase - other residents were finding this very difficult. This could be a lovely hotel - great location and nice rooms - shame about the service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Devon

Good centrally located hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The location was good. The bed was large and comfortable. The towels were also bath sheet size.
Cons: The water pressure for the shower could have been better.
Location: Winchester is a very historic city; although we were only staying overnight we enjoyed a pleasant walk around looking at the cathedral and buildings.
A very pleasant hotel situated centrally in Winchester but with a garden and located away from the main street so, therefore, quiet. The staff were helpful and the room of a good size.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Cons: Noise, and larger bathroom
We drove down to Winchester and booked en route, so it was a case of what was available. It wasn't clear on the website (or rather it's hidden away) that there is a £10 surcharge to park your car there overnight. We were in room 123, I would avoid, the bathroom is 2 foot wide, the bed is very soft and you can hear every noise down the corridor. Someone was trying to get in our room at 2am! The rooms must be tricky to find as we heard the night porter accompany at least 2 other people to their rooms. Not a great nights sleep, we won't be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2017
We only stayed for one night but our stay was enjoyable. The hotel is in a central location and we could walk front he train station. Our room was clean and the atmosphere of the hotel good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel very close to shops etc.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Had a very nice stay with four friends the food in restaurant was very good and the staff very attentive. the only thing that let it down was the weather rained all day. I would certainly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WM

Great location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Location, character and charm
Cons: Bar service
Very close to the high street yet pretty quiet with the window open (it was a bit warm in the rooms) and this made the stay all the more enjoyable. The gardens are nice and the layout is charming, staff on the desk very good indeed even after a 14-hour shift! On the down side: no chance of you sneaking around in this very creaky and genuinely old Hotel, floorboards creak like buggery but I guess that adds to it all. The bar staff are magical, they disappear whenever you want a drink and the £10 a night charge for the Hotels own car park is a bit galling. Having said that, I would stay here again without any hesitation, cool place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Convenient to town centre, with nice garden view

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Coonvenient, pleasant reception staff, parking on site.
Cons: Breakfast facilities
Stained towel in bathroom, & expensive bar drinks, queue for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shropshire

perfectly situated

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: bar service
great location. hotel looking a bit tired but acceptable. the bar was service was poor. never anyone around. guests would leave rather than keep waiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Worked out well We have stayed there before so that helped. Near to my niece's house.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Ops Manager, Hotel Management
Thank-you for your response, we look forward to you returning to The Winchester Royal in the future.