Ratings based on 1,018 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Cons: Use actual plates and not styrofoam.
The breakfast was good. My only critique was that there were styrofoam plates, which is bad for the environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Abby Lisk, Hotel Management
Thank you for the excellent rating. We are glad to know you enjoyed your visit with us. Real dinning ware is our goal for every breakfast. However there are circumstances that will prompt the use of plastic/paper on occassion but we do try to limit that. Please come back and stay with us again the next time you are in the Winchester, VA area. Until then, Abby Lisk Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Was painting halls during our stay. But everyone very nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Nice hotel right next to interstate.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very clean and accommodating to pet owners.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Local area had a few restaurants and if you need wine....the front desk has a small selection at a reasonable rate.
Great experience in accommodating us and our dogs. They seem to have a pretty good process for dog owners. There are rules....and if you violate the rule it could be expensive but I found that these rues not only protected the hotel but also all the guests including the pet owners. The first floor rooms which were dedicated for pet owners were very clean and had not carpet for easy cleaning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Abby Lisk, Hotel Management
We are thrilled to have earned such a great rating and review from your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers and mentioning the pet policy and rules. The rules are very basic and just require some basic courtesy to others. They allow us to continue to welcome pets and still provide a clean, quite and comfortable environment for all our guests. Please come back and stay with us again the next time you are in Winchester, VA. Until then, Abby Lisk Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Close to Interstate
Very convenient for an overnight stop when travelling
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Abby Lisk, Hotel Management
We are thrilled to know you had an excellent stay with us. Please come back the next time you are traveling through the area. Until then, Abby Lisk Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Battle Creek, MI

Nice clean hotel.

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Clean and close to restaurants and the highway.
Cons: Nothing at the time we stayed.
Location: Close to restaurants and the highway.
We enjoyed our stay at this Comfort Inn. It was recently updated and everything was very nice. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was good. It was close to restaurants and the highway. We would highly recommend this particular hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Abby Lisk, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. You mentioned many of the reasons our guests love our love our Country Inn and Suites. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are traveling through Winchester, VA. Until then, Abby Lisk Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rodanthe, NC

Being renovated, but clean, new and nice

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Hotel was like almost new, rooms clean and very nice. Only negative were the pillows, but that's a personal preference. Pillows were very flat! Staff was excellent and very conscientious. Went down for breakfast and someone had spilled a drink in the elevator, by the time we went back up, elevator was cleaned and smelling good! Anyway, small details, but I believe that's what separates standard to great......
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Abby Lisk, Hotel Management
While renovating the hotel we are sorry our guests don't got to see us at our best. Your review reminds us that we are still shinning through and we are glad to know you had a good visit with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Winchester, VA area. Until then, Abby Lisk Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lyndhurst, VA

Pleasant stay, helpful staff, horrible bed

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location! Also that it was a quiet place even though it was near the interstate.
Cons: The bed!!! They need a pillow top, or some sort of cushioning. Not everyone likes super-firm mattresses.
Location: Our trip revolved around the local craft breweries/cideries. Winchester Ciderworks and Escutcheon Brewery were fantastic!
I had to call the hotel a few days before checking in about an issue, and then discovered a second issue that I had to contact Expedia directly. Both Expedia and the hotel clerk (Thanks, Ashley) were amazingly helpful and patient with my problem. As for the stay itself, this is a quiet place even when there are a lot of people staying there. Breakfasts were good, the indoor dining area was small but there were tables outside. The room was pleasant and the bathroom is huge! The only complaint I had was that the bed was so hard that I had trouble sleeping and woke up in pain. My husband, on the other hand, had the two best nights of sleep he's had in a long time. If I stay here again I will ask for and bring extra pillows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Abby Lisk, Hotel Management
We are so glad you had a good stay with us despite the bed not being comfortable for you. As with all hotels we try to find a happy medium when it comes to mattresses and pillows but it is hard to find one that pleases everyone. Winchester is such a great location and we happen to be very convenient to many activities and have the conveninences most travelers are looking for. Great restaurants within walking distance, the Alamo Drafthouse, grocery store and a conveninence store. It really meets everyones needs. I'm glad to know Ashley was able to assistance with any issues you had prior to your arrival. I'll be sure so share the review with her. We hope to welcome you back again the next time you are in Winchester, VA. Until then, Abby Lisk
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waynesboro, VA

Lots of potential

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service. Better options when mechanical issues occur.
This hotel has a lot of potential, but it's lacking in good customer service and options for issues that come up. Our a/c went out. They had no other room to move us to and they didn't offer with the possibility of finding another hotel. When I called down and asked for a fan, I was told that it was on the way up. Nearly 30 minutes later I had to go down and get it myself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Abby Lisk, Hotel Management
We were sorry to see that your AC issue wasn't taken care of promptly and the fan was not delivered to you as you had expected. We will work on additional training for our new employees and retrain our staff now that we are switching seasons. We hope we can welcome you back again and have a chance to improve upon your last visit. Until then, Abby Lisk Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Nice staff, nice work out area
hotel was above average but the a/c was exceptionally noisy and the automatic control did not work properly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Abby Lisk, Hotel Management
Thank you for mentioning the issue with the AC. We will investigate and see if we can't get things working better. We hope you will return for another visit the next time you are in Winchester, VA. We would like to improve upon your last visit. Until then, Abby Lisk Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Very nice and comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast - definitely recommend!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Abby Lisk, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great rating and recommendation. Fellow travelers rely heavily on reviews when choosing a place to stay. We appreciate that you shared your experience with fellow travelers. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another visit. Until then, Abby Lisk Assistant General Manager