Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Quaint, elegant and very romantic. A great value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

No way is this a 3-star hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: The Victorian charm as you enter the hotel is evident. Too bad there was a pile of laundry in the middle of the lobby.
Cons: See above.
Location: Quaint town. I got in late at night and left before sunrise.
Crisp white linens and sparkling clean amenities were two things NOT found at this hotel. The sheets on my bed were dingy and one pillowcase had strands of hair on it. The other pillow felt like it was filled with just a handful of feathers. I slept with my clothes on. It got worse when I entered the bathroom. The toilet was not clean (I won't elaborate) and the condition of the shower was less than inviting. Suffice it to say I didn't enter the bathroom again during my one-night stay. Finally the continental breakfast was laughable. They shouldn't even bother if for no other reason than to save themselves the embarrassment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Do not recommend

Posted Oct 23, 2016
They did not have our reservation and they gave us their last room available (miscommunication with expedia?). The room was not what he have booked. The room was tiny, the bed very uncomfortable and overall not very clean. The room did not have shades!! The bathroom was very small, and the shower curtain was moldy. The breakfast was simple but very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

One night stand

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Old wood floors.
Cons: Get rid of all the stuff. Very cluttered therefore overwhelming. Some beautiful antiques but so many in each room.
Location: Only spent one night. Walked around the quaint downtown area.
Old hotel, cluttered, not best up keep. Looks neglected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Weekend Getaway

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The antiques. The hospitality. The restaurant. The Pub.
Cons: The outside could use some maintenance.
Location: Not much in Strasburg; much to do and see in Woodstock, Harrisonburg, and Staunton.
Very nice hotel;reasonably priced. The interior is full of genuine period antiques. Definitely would stay here gain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge Va.

Shenandoah Trip

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The very quaint idea of the hotel.
Cons: Include a hot breakfast as part of the stay.
Location: Not much in the town, but very near the Shenandoah.
My wife and I were looking for an overnight stay near Shenandoah and found this Hotel on Expedia. It was a very nice Bed and breakfast and was dog friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Old, Old, Old!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Everything about this place is old. The bathroom was dark and very small. Plaster was peeling off the walls in the bathroom and the shower floor moved up and down (spongy) at least an inch. Water dripping from the toilet or sink, so the floor was constantly wet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice areas

Posted Jul 29, 2016
The Ladies Room is filthy!!! The bed is not a good condition!! The rug in the bedroom is filthy!!! The meals was fair. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hendersonville, NC

Antiquated

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: No wifi password
Cons: Lots of things, let's start with breakfast.
Door to room was wide open upon arrival. Crooked floor. Ancient furnishings. Walls in bathroom were mildewed and rotting. Bedspread and shams were faded. A/C blows directly into the bathroom, close the door to cool the room. Continental breakfast was pitiful and I couldn't even find coffee. On a positive note, the sheets and towels smelled really clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Friendly, more personal travel experience

Posted Jul 10, 2016
I found this hotel to be a nice change of pace from the large chain hotels, and the rates were very competitive. Food was excellent in the dining room and in the pub, which was crowded on a Tuesday night. The room was quiet and comfortable, with vintage furniture and period ambience. The few places where a bit of touch-up paint was needed just added to the overall charm. Staff was most helpful. I would definitely stop again.