Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Quiet secluded country hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Oldy worldy. Quiet. Remote. Character.
Cons: Musac at breakfast and bar perhaps.
Location: Ideal for New Forrest and coast. Loads of country pubs. Went to Beaulieu. and Bombay Distillery.
Stayover after visiting Bombay Distillery nearby. Convenient for Winchester and New Forrest. Didn't try Dinner but great breakfast. Pleasant walk in grounds and chat to the gardener/ Pizza man out back. Endless selection of country pubs around. Beautiful building. Staff polite and professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Lainston House. It's a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your time with us. The Bombay Distillery is great fun and a good recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Lovely surroundings to walk around.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Great setting. Staff couldn't do more for you. Amazing building with lots of history.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review of the team here at Lainston House. I will share your kind comments with all of the team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury stay

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pleasantly surprised by a room upgrade. Staff excellent. Dinner was amazing. Breakfasts good too. Well worth a re-visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review of Lainston House. It's a pleasure to read how hospitable you found the team and I shall be sharing your review with them. Thank you for your kind recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Aug 25, 2017
A lovely Hotel A super room with a great view of the beautiful dardens
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5* review of Lainston House. I shall share your kind comments with the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Excellent stay in this impressive mansion. Perfect accommodation for a family with large family suites. One can tell it is a privately held hotel and well looked after ! Staff was very friendly and considerate. Not cheap but you get more than you expect compared to many other hotels in the U.K. Many thanks !
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for your glowing review of Lainston House. It's always a pleasure to read how much our guests enjoy the hospitality provided by the team and I will be sure to share your review with them all. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Building, inside and out and service.
Cons: They added a couple of things to my bill, which was a bit disappointing. They removed the mysterious 'extra guest at breakfast' £21!
Beautiful building, grand but intimate, amazing stay, impeccable service, nothing was too much trouble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5* review of Lainston House. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed the hospitality provided by the team and how much you enjoyed our beautiful 17th century building. I will share your kind comments with the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

A lovely manor house hotel in Winchester.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Ambience. Restaurant. Staff
Cons: The bathroom was quite modern, but the shower is poorly designed. Need a hand held device, or at least the overhead should be directed at an angle.
Location: Winchester is a lovely historic town. Cathedral worth a visit. Train down to Portsmouth to see Naval Museum. Salisbury, Stonehenge by car.
A truly beautiful setting with a fine hotel. Very attentive and helpful staff. We stayed three nights. The dinner at the restaurant was inspired. Unfortunately because we did not reserve ahead, we could only book the restaurant for the third of our three nights. Lesson learned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Lainston House. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your dinner in our award winning restaurant. I shall share your constructive feed back with our H/K department and thank you for bringing this to my attention. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
Beautiful historic house with all modern features in rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of Lainston House. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
5 out of 5
by Chris

A lovely country house hotel

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, much enjoyed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017
Thank you for your kind review of Lainston House. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
5 out of 5
by Bina

Brilliant

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent place and services
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to read that you found Lainston to be excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.