Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

A lovely manor house hotel in Winchester.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Ambience. Restaurant. Staff
Cons: The bathroom was quite modern, but the shower is poorly designed. Need a hand held device, or at least the overhead should be directed at an angle.
Location: Winchester is a lovely historic town. Cathedral worth a visit. Train down to Portsmouth to see Naval Museum. Salisbury, Stonehenge by car.
A truly beautiful setting with a fine hotel. Very attentive and helpful staff. We stayed three nights. The dinner at the restaurant was inspired. Unfortunately because we did not reserve ahead, we could only book the restaurant for the third of our three nights. Lesson learned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Lainston House. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your dinner in our award winning restaurant. I shall share your constructive feed back with our H/K department and thank you for bringing this to my attention. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
Beautiful historic house with all modern features in rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of Lainston House. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Relaxing stay after a full on day with Pepper Pig

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Lainston is a lovely hotel, beautiful house and grounds. High class clientele! I doubt they have many young children staying but made out 1 and 3 year old very welcome. Albeit the children's menu in the restaurant was very expensive, and our food was great we'd go for the bar menu next time. Junior suite was perfect for our family. Girls loved the owls too!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review of Lainston House. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Erik our owl is always a hit with the kids and its fantastice that you made the time to go up and visit him. He loves a good natter. We look forward to welcoming all of you back to Lainston House in the not too distant future. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Ives,Cambridgeshire

Posted Apr 14, 2017
A very disappointing visit for an expensive hotel. In future if there are any planned parties etc in the Winchester area we will not return to this hotel. One accessible plug point sited in the toilet. We stay in much better appointed hotels for the same or lesser price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and show you why we are such a great destination. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Elegant

Posted Mar 6, 2017
A beautiful and elegant country house with magnificent grounds. We stayed for a night and it was truly a treat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
A lovely country in, that had elegance, comfort, and attentive staff to enhance the experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Perfect weekend destination

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything! The staff do elevate the experience from something that is already good, to something that is special
Cons: The breakfast - cooked breakfast was lukewarm and the continental selection was limited
Location: Easy reach for a number of great places to explore - Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, Winchester, Stockbridge
Hotel was everything I expected from a country house hotel. I cannot praise the staff highly enough - professional, courteous and go out of their way to make your stay special. The location is perfect - easy to get to interesting places but with the relaxing country setting. Dinner on the Saturday night was amazing - well worth the money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

A classic country house hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Its style and grandeur.
Cons: Drinks prices are off the scale and could be greatly improved, it's one thing asking for £12 for a gin but to add £3 for the tonic is a bit steep.
Location: Winchester is a great place to spend a weekend lots to visit and do.
A warm friendly country house hotel with lots of wood panelling and open fires and very helpful staff. In all a pleasant break.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels