Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Along a narrow road...

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Absolutely delightful hosts who are happy to help with anything and are great fun to talk to. Great breakfast and referral to the neighboring Plough Inn for a wonderful dinner. Heartily recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Spent only one night in this B&B and enjoyed it, even though a bit out of the way. Lovely older home run by a lovely couple.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Didn't like bathroom being separate from room. Hosts not very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

If only all B&B's were like this!

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Friendly host, beautiful gardens, great accomodation and lovely local pub.
Cons: Nothing at all!
Location: It is out of Winchester, so it is quite, but very relaxing. The local village and indeed Little Mead itself and its gardens, are beautiful.
What a wonderful way to conclude three weeks of travel in the UK. Alistair (our host) and his wife run an amazing B&B called Little Mead. It is around 20 minutes out of Winchester, and is in an utterly beautiful little village. Little Mead is their home with individual bedrooms and bathroom - all kept neat and clean, and comfortable. Guests have the opportunity of sharing their sitting room, and their gardens, which are wonderful classic English gardens. Alistair is a great host, who if you engage him in conversation, is witty and knowledgeable, happy slo share is knowledge and to listen to your story. Oh, he also has two wonderfully friendly dogs. Let him book you in to the local pub - the Plough Inn. A classically beautiful pub on the outside, it is warm and very inviting and the meals are extraordinary good, and they have an amazing variety. Do book, as it is very popular and turning up "cold" may mean no table. This was a the very best B&B in our entire journey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near london

Beautiful location and charming hosts

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The B and B is situated in a picture perfect village and is within five minutes walk of a great pub. Little Mead is quintessentially English, charming,old fashioned and just Alitalia bit eccentric.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Quiet Pretty Village

Posted Jul 24, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip but were a little alarmed by the frailty of the proprietors. The Plough pub in the village did excellent food.
5 out of 5
by paul

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coqutilam,B.C.

Fantastic Bed and Breakfast in the countryside

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The owners were the perfect hosts.The home has been kept in wonderful shape and the guest rooms are comfortable and welcoming.
Cons: The only comment I have is related to the stairs .. you will need to carry up any luggage that you have . Not a problem ...just be aware.
Location: The Plough Inn was a good pub/restaurant that served a variety of food and was an inviting place to spend some time over a meal, with outside seating.
We recently stayed one night in this lovely bed and breakfast in the English countryside. It was the perfect way to spend our first night in England. Alistair and his wife were friendly and welcoming and made us feel right at home. Not to mention the 2 dogs ... loved attention at any time. The location was a little out of the way but if you want a stay in a beautiful English country house , with just the birds to lull you to sleep and the gardens to surround you when you are out in the back reading a book .... this is the place for you. The bedrooms , with a fully stocked bathroom, were clean and the beds were comfortable. Our view of the back garden from our room started our day off just right. Even had a kettle in the room for me to make my night time cup of tea. The breakfast was first rate , with a nice selection of hot and cold items, fresh fruit, juices, and coffee /tea. Basically cooked to order when you were ready for your breakfast. For our other meals we walked a few minutes down the country lane to a nice local pub/restaurant for nice meals. Alistair was kind enough to make reservations ahead of time for us. The area around the home is loaded with pathways and country lanes for some great opportunities for us to stretch our legs after our long flight. We lucked out with the weather and were able to go on a couple of nice walks to just explore the farms and local village and footpaths. We loved Little Mead and would stay here again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
by KellyM

Loved it!

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
I really loved staying here. The owners are lovely and make you feel very comfortable without being over-bearing. They have led extremely interesting lives. The room was very comfortable, garden beautiful and we also very much enjoyed the bathroom / shower! The breakfast was great and they also recommended a fantastic pub for dinner (The Plough Inn). Seriously one of the best meals I've had in a while.
5 out of 5
by anonymous from England

stay at your grandparents

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
ok but over priced