Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bank Holiday weekend

Posted May 30, 2018
We got assistance with our luggage. I had asked for a room near reception and it probably was the closest room but it was still quite a long way. The room was large and included a fridge and safe but it could have done with more drawers and coat hangars. I liked the pull out tea tray, with the kettle already plugged in. You need to take your own flannel and shower cap and there was no washing line over the bath. There was an air conditioning unit but it wasn’t very effective (it was very hot whilst we were there). We couldn’t find the TV remote control and they had no spares available (we eventually found it under the bed). Service in the restaurant was very slow. If they served more quickly then they could turn over the tables. On our second night the restaurant was fully booked so we had to eat in the bar which was serving a very limited menu either pizza or burger. The starters in the restaurant were disappointing. There is a good, reasonably priced, wine list; glasses of wine are available . Our main course in the bar arrived practically instantly but our ice cream had melted by the time it arrived. Outside the bar there is a seating area with a table tennis table. Sadly the outside eating areas of the restaurant were not being used. There are further seating areas behind the Manor House, looking at the lake. The gardens were attractive. There were weddings both days we were there which didn’t bother us at all. We enjoyed looking at the wedding guests. Buffet breakfas
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2018
Extremely small room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Posted May 14, 2018
Nice hotel nothing friendly about the staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2018
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fareham

Posted May 4, 2018
Lovely surroundings Close to Winchester Great spa facilities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely situation close to places of interest

Posted Apr 29, 2018
We have stayed many times only for a couple of days and mainly because of its convenient position. Our recent was disappointing as the bed was so uncomfortable we had to ask for a toppier to be installed to cover the protruding springs and the restaurant was full we had to eat in the bar. The food was poor apart from the price , service was slow and the bar man seemed to be over worked and was quite abrupt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Had s great weekend break from walking in to the room friendly staff great bar food and a perfect place to relax
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2018 by Tom Fromm, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Nice rural hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2018
Stayed here the night before my wedding. Was a nice hotel. Had really good spa facilities which was really nice to relax in before my wedding. Room was nice and in good condition. Breakfast was good with a mixture of hot and cold food. Only disappointment was the long walk to get to our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2018 by Tom , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay the night before your wedding, particularly our spa facilities and breakfast. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting

Posted Feb 28, 2018
Location: Bombay gin distillery, Winchester, Southampton and coast
Very comfortable hotel in acres of ground. Very relaxing
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2018 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, particularly our fantastic location and grounds. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2018 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating, we hope to welcome you back soon!