Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Had everything one would expect of such a hotel.
Location: Was a block away from a walking mall and a handy spot to crash during the Thanksgiving family gathering. It was only 1 mile from our daughter's home.
Everything went smoothly, except that the elevator did not work. We had to use the service elevator and one time we walked down four flights-felt proud we could do it even though we are in out seventies.sHad e
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient to downtown shopping and restaurants

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The location. The staff is very friendly and aims to please.
Cons: I thought the buffet was over-priced. I didn't like paying a $9 gratuity for a buffet; they were out of a lot of dishes most of the time.
Location: Good shopping, restaurants; a real flavor for the area which is quite beautiful with lots of wonderful architecture.
The Geo Washington is in a great location. The decor is a combination of styles and periods but seems to work. It's a comfortable place to stay, in my opinion. We enjoyed the buffet on Thanksgiving but it was expensive. The restaurant is rather expensive for breakfast, etc. But, as mentioned, the staff is very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fantastic hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Had a very enjoyable two day stay. Fantastic hotel, especially for the price. Large comfortable room, very clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The food was excellent. I like the fact that it was a historical venue.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The bartender that evening was great. Very personable
Cons: Front desk rep when checking in was impersonal and rushed. No warmth at all
Location: walking distance to downtown shops and events - cute town
first time there and will return when in area. lovely hotel with class.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will return ;)

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Said
Cons: Said
Location: Said
Lovely .... pleasant, clean & close to everything. Simply wonderful stay .. thanks Kathryn and James Dutton
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by cturnbull, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

A beautiful and romantic older hotel.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: We stayed here as part of our trip heading north and then back south on Skyline Drive in Shenandoah National Park.
When we arrived our toilet was running but my husband was able to fix it. The room was beautiful & clean. It could have been laid out a little better so that we could see the TV but we rearranged things ourselves. The walls are quite thin. We could hear our neighbor as she watched TV & then very early in the morning as she spoke on the phone. However, she didn't make noise for very long so even that worked out. I was very excited when I made my coffee in the morning. This is the first hotel I've found that offers 2 packets of creamer in the coffee packets. I don't use any sweetener but I do use double cream. Never before have I had enough cream to make my coffee perfect. Overall it was a beautiful & clean hotel. In spite of my couple of negatives comments I would indeed stay here again & I would recommend this hotel to any & all of my friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from richmond,va

It was wonderful.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: It was very elegant. The bar was cozy and a great place to top off the evening . The restaurant staff were very friendly and the food was delicious.
Cons: Nothing. Maybe a little pricey, but other than that it was great.
Location: Great location. We walked to the restaurant in the downtown mall. Very safe and people extremely nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Right in the middle of Historic Winchester

Posted Oct 5, 2016
My friend and I came to do some genealogical and historic research in Winchester so we stayed at the George Washington Hotel. The location was perfect for what we wanted to do. It was reasonably priced with a good restaurant n the basement. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. I know this sounds strange but our favorite part was the bathroom and the shower--very nice. I don't know that it would be a really great place for families though because it is pretty formal and not necessarily kid friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati OH

Beautifully renovated hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, Convenient location, and friendly staff.
Cons: The wifi in my room wasn't working, but the staff showed me how to gain access.
Location: Great restaurants and shops are less than a block away.
Beautifully renovated hotel with very comfortable rooms. It's in walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants. The price was very reasonable too. I would definitely stay here again.