Ratings based on 674 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The staff were very accommodating. Our check in wasn't until 4pm but we called to question early check in because we had a wedding to attend at 5pm, which was 30 minutes away. The staff were able to clean our room and have it ready by 12pm. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Cons: Parking spaces
It was Cody and relaxing and al staff that we meet was excellant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Motorcycle lay-over

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Charm, location, facilities and anything you need is within walking distance
Cons: There are many events here, I've stayed at the hotel during those events so avoid a room above the ballroom because it can get quite loud.
Location: Nearby to at least 2 great restaurants and a quaint little diner across the street for bfast.
I have stayed in Winchester an at the George Washington Hotel for years. I find the location very appealing, convenient for parking, and walking to anything you need; food, drink, music and a cute little diner across the street for breakfast. Covered parking is in the rear of the hotel which is nice since I'm usually on a motorcycle and I don't need to worry about rain/weather after I park. Highly recommend, make reservations early for this hotel with such a convenient location seems to be in demand. Happy & loyal customer, -Bob
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston Salem

Fantastic stay!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Room was wonderful (but no fan in bathroom was a bummer), staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel restaurant was AMAZING!!! Terrific place to stay! Easy walking to Old Town Winchester. Highly recommend!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Carla, Hotel Management
Thank you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

A minute away from the city

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: It was historical, clean and staff were mostly nice. I say mostly because during check out a staff member came to the desk and gave us an ugly look.
Cons: No unpleasant looks at any customer. I guess she didn't like the fact that my husband was black and with me. Fix the noisy elevator.
Location: It was smack dab in the meddle of shops and eats...Good thing. Close to museums and things to do.
We enjoyed most of our stay at this hotel, however; it was very noisy at night. We could hear every time the elevator was used, and it is a very loud clankity elevator. There were people screaming in the hall ways due to a wedding, for hours. We had a very difficult time sleeping and to top it off the tv gray screen would not shut off, so we had light all night in the room. We were there to rest, and we did not get more than three hours of sleep ( we were in bed by 9pm). So to tell you the truth this was the secnd time this hotel was not a great experience for the exact same reasons (except the tv issue), we don't believe we'll be staying there again. For the price, we should have gotten peace and quite, not to mention breakfast included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice area

Posted May 28, 2017
Very nice hotel.The restaurant had great food.The staff was very nice.The room was nice and clean.The area has a lot of history and located about an hour and half from D.C..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't stay there again.

Posted May 16, 2017
Parking area had machinery in it so we couldn't park close. There was no explanation. Staff was rude and dismissive. Room and bathroom lighting was terrible. Had to open window shades in the bathroom to see. Toilet paper roll holder fell off the wall. We were very disappointed with this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Historic Hotel

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Delicious restaurant, great location in cute town
Location: Perfect location for driving from Chattanooga to New York
Comfy beds in lovely historic hotel. Super relaxing stop on our road trip from Chattanooga to New York. Would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

Nice place

Posted May 10, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The negative was the parking was confusing. Thanks
4 out of 5
by Brenda Crabtree from Pavilion, NY

Great place to stay.

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Really nice older hotel. Great location, great pool and the restaurant was awesome. Lots of shopping within walking distance. I would definitely stay there again.